Skip to main content
added 1 character in body
Source Link
kk-dev11
  • 113
  • 1
  • 6

I am planning to build aan online web app and a mobile app for learning vocabulary.

Functions:

  • User can create lists (eg. personalities, phrasal verbs etc.) and add words to the list with definitions.
  • These list can be made public.

If users were to copy dictionary definitions, for instance Oxford or Cambridge) and make the word lists public, is it a copyright infringement? Am I responsible for this activity? Can dictionary owners charge me against copyright issue?

I am planning to build a online web app and a mobile app for learning vocabulary.

Functions:

  • User can create lists (eg. personalities, phrasal verbs etc.) and add words to the list with definitions.
  • These list can be made public.

If users were to copy dictionary definitions, for instance Oxford or Cambridge) and make the word lists public, is it a copyright infringement? Am I responsible for this activity? Can dictionary owners charge me against copyright issue?

I am planning to build an online web app and a mobile app for learning vocabulary.

Functions:

  • User can create lists (eg. personalities, phrasal verbs etc.) and add words to the list with definitions.
  • These list can be made public.

If users were to copy dictionary definitions, for instance Oxford or Cambridge) and make the word lists public, is it a copyright infringement? Am I responsible for this activity? Can dictionary owners charge me against copyright issue?

Post Migrated Here from webapps.stackexchange.com (revisions)
Source Link
kk-dev11
  • 113
  • 1
  • 6

Copyright infringment: using dictionary definitions

I am planning to build a online web app and a mobile app for learning vocabulary.

Functions:

  • User can create lists (eg. personalities, phrasal verbs etc.) and add words to the list with definitions.
  • These list can be made public.

If users were to copy dictionary definitions, for instance Oxford or Cambridge) and make the word lists public, is it a copyright infringement? Am I responsible for this activity? Can dictionary owners charge me against copyright issue?