Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 25 at 22:50 comment added Greendrake @bdb484 Good on you, but that doesn't empower you to redefine what is commonly referred to as "knowledge".
Jun 25 at 20:48 comment added bdb484 I have undertaken to personally verify basically every answer I post here.
Jun 25 at 14:25 comment added Michael Hall But that's how 90+% of knowledge works. How much of what you learned in school or watched on the nightly news have you undertaken to personally verify?
Jun 25 at 7:30 comment added bdb484 Eh. I think I'd disagree that what you're describing constitutes "knowledge." It's just things you heard and believed without verifying them.
Jun 25 at 6:35 comment added Greendrake @bdb484 That is no guesses but knowledge I have accumulated from various sources over the years. I am lazy to search and cite those sources, and my memory by all means may be inaccurate. But, until proven wrong, I am confident in this knowledge to the extent that I would act upon it if I was in the OP's situation.
Jun 25 at 6:26 comment added bdb484 But have you shared anything you know? It seems like you're just sharing random guesses.
Jun 25 at 1:21 comment added Greendrake @TripeHound It works that way just fine. We share what we know here, and we don't owe any proof to anyone (although of course we provide it if we feel like it).
Jun 24 at 18:57 comment added TripeHound "I don't feel like proving this answer is correct" That's not how this site works.
Jun 24 at 14:52 comment added Michael Hall And then there is the corollary: "is there a law that prohibits X?" "no, there is no law prohibiting X." "can you provide evidence to prove your assertion?"
Jun 24 at 14:28 comment added Greendrake @Lag I don't feel like proving this answer is correct, but I am open to hear proof it is wrong.
Jun 24 at 13:22 comment added Lag I'm writing an answer. While I'm doing that, perhaps you will provide evidence to support your answer.
Jun 24 at 13:19 comment added Greendrake @Lag Write your answer, and if it convinces me that this one is wrong, I will delete it.
Jun 24 at 13:12 comment added Lag This isn't true of the UK.
Jun 24 at 13:07 history answered Greendrake CC BY-SA 4.0