Skip to main content
added 4 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
MCW
  • 33.7k
  • 12
  • 108
  • 162

What were the largest European Treasuriestreasuries, in gold and silver, at the end of the Seven Years War?

From a related question, I'm now looking to compare the size of European Treasuriestreasuries as they existed at the end of the Seven Years War (1763).

I'm only interested in gold and silver that existed in official treasuries. The Empires I'm interested in are Portugal, Spain, Britain, France, Prussia, Austria, Denmark-Norway, Sweden, Russia, and OttomaOttoman.

Estimates are OK. I can make a guess and say that the Spanish Empire had the largest, because of their gold and silver fleets from the Americas (and that Spain didn't join the war until 1762 so they prolyprobably didn't drain their finances like France did). However, "largest" is too vague for me. I want to know how large and how much larger it was compared to the others. For this we need figures for each empire.

I've come across very little hard data, probably the best of which is this site for gold, but it only gives numbers to the Bank of England. The closest wikipediaWikipedia chart I found was disappointingly this historical GDP table, but the nearest dates are 1700 and 1820 and it's only GDP, not silver or gold of treasuries.

What were the largest European Treasuries, in gold and silver, at the end of the Seven Years War?

From a related question, I'm now looking to compare the size of European Treasuries as they existed at the end of the Seven Years War (1763).

I'm only interested in gold and silver that existed in official treasuries. The Empires I'm interested in are Portugal, Spain, Britain, France, Prussia, Austria, Denmark-Norway, Sweden, Russia, and Ottoma.

Estimates are OK. I can make a guess and say that the Spanish Empire had the largest, because of their gold and silver fleets from the Americas (and that Spain didn't join the war until 1762 so they proly didn't drain their finances like France did). However, "largest" is too vague for me. I want to know how large and how much larger it was compared to the others. For this we need figures for each empire.

I've come across very little hard data, probably the best of which is this site for gold, but it only gives numbers to the Bank of England. The closest wikipedia chart I found was disappointingly this historical GDP table, but the nearest dates are 1700 and 1820 and it's only GDP, not silver or gold of treasuries.

What were the largest European treasuries, in gold and silver, at the end of the Seven Years War?

From a related question, I'm now looking to compare the size of European treasuries as they existed at the end of the Seven Years War (1763).

I'm only interested in gold and silver that existed in official treasuries. The Empires I'm interested in are Portugal, Spain, Britain, France, Prussia, Austria, Denmark-Norway, Sweden, Russia, and Ottoman.

Estimates are OK. I can make a guess and say that the Spanish Empire had the largest, because of their gold and silver fleets from the Americas (and that Spain didn't join the war until 1762 so they probably didn't drain their finances like France did). However, "largest" is too vague for me. I want to know how large and how much larger it was compared to the others. For this we need figures for each empire.

I've come across very little hard data, probably the best of which is this site for gold, but it only gives numbers to the Bank of England. The closest Wikipedia chart I found was disappointingly this historical GDP table, but the nearest dates are 1700 and 1820 and it's only GDP, not silver or gold of treasuries.

Bumped by Community user
Tweeted twitter.com/StackHistory/status/937821026993524741
replaced http://history.stackexchange.com/ with https://history.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

From a related questionrelated question, I'm now looking to compare the size of European Treasuries as they existed at the end of the Seven Years War (1763).

I'm only interested in gold and silver that existed in official treasuries. The Empires I'm interested in are Portugal, Spain, Britain, France, Prussia, Austria, Denmark-Norway, Sweden, Russia, and Ottoma.

Estimates are OK. I can make a guess and say that the Spanish Empire had the largest, because of their gold and silver fleets from the Americas (and that Spain didn't join the war until 1762 so they proly didn't drain their finances like France did). However, "largest" is too vague for me. I want to know how large and how much larger it was compared to the others. For this we need figures for each empire.

I've come across very little hard data, probably the best of which is this site for gold, but it only gives numbers to the Bank of England. The closest wikipedia chart I found was disappointingly this historical GDP table, but the nearest dates are 1700 and 1820 and it's only GDP, not silver or gold of treasuries.

From a related question, I'm now looking to compare the size of European Treasuries as they existed at the end of the Seven Years War (1763).

I'm only interested in gold and silver that existed in official treasuries. The Empires I'm interested in are Portugal, Spain, Britain, France, Prussia, Austria, Denmark-Norway, Sweden, Russia, and Ottoma.

Estimates are OK. I can make a guess and say that the Spanish Empire had the largest, because of their gold and silver fleets from the Americas (and that Spain didn't join the war until 1762 so they proly didn't drain their finances like France did). However, "largest" is too vague for me. I want to know how large and how much larger it was compared to the others. For this we need figures for each empire.

I've come across very little hard data, probably the best of which is this site for gold, but it only gives numbers to the Bank of England. The closest wikipedia chart I found was disappointingly this historical GDP table, but the nearest dates are 1700 and 1820 and it's only GDP, not silver or gold of treasuries.

From a related question, I'm now looking to compare the size of European Treasuries as they existed at the end of the Seven Years War (1763).

I'm only interested in gold and silver that existed in official treasuries. The Empires I'm interested in are Portugal, Spain, Britain, France, Prussia, Austria, Denmark-Norway, Sweden, Russia, and Ottoma.

Estimates are OK. I can make a guess and say that the Spanish Empire had the largest, because of their gold and silver fleets from the Americas (and that Spain didn't join the war until 1762 so they proly didn't drain their finances like France did). However, "largest" is too vague for me. I want to know how large and how much larger it was compared to the others. For this we need figures for each empire.

I've come across very little hard data, probably the best of which is this site for gold, but it only gives numbers to the Bank of England. The closest wikipedia chart I found was disappointingly this historical GDP table, but the nearest dates are 1700 and 1820 and it's only GDP, not silver or gold of treasuries.

Source Link
DrZ214
  • 17.2k
  • 15
  • 70
  • 161

What were the largest European Treasuries, in gold and silver, at the end of the Seven Years War?

From a related question, I'm now looking to compare the size of European Treasuries as they existed at the end of the Seven Years War (1763).

I'm only interested in gold and silver that existed in official treasuries. The Empires I'm interested in are Portugal, Spain, Britain, France, Prussia, Austria, Denmark-Norway, Sweden, Russia, and Ottoma.

Estimates are OK. I can make a guess and say that the Spanish Empire had the largest, because of their gold and silver fleets from the Americas (and that Spain didn't join the war until 1762 so they proly didn't drain their finances like France did). However, "largest" is too vague for me. I want to know how large and how much larger it was compared to the others. For this we need figures for each empire.

I've come across very little hard data, probably the best of which is this site for gold, but it only gives numbers to the Bank of England. The closest wikipedia chart I found was disappointingly this historical GDP table, but the nearest dates are 1700 and 1820 and it's only GDP, not silver or gold of treasuries.