Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
edited title
Link
Jason_
  • 6.2k
  • 2
  • 14
  • 50

Why did Rachel steal her father's idols? (Genesis 31:19)

Source Link
Jason_
  • 6.2k
  • 2
  • 14
  • 50

Why did Rachel steal her father's idols?

In Genesis 31:17-21 NKJV we read:

17 Then Jacob rose and set his sons and his wives on camels. 18 And he carried away all his livestock and all his possessions which he had gained, his acquired livestock which he had gained in Padan Aram, to go to his father Isaac in the land of Canaan. 19 Now Laban had gone to shear his sheep, and Rachel had stolen the household idols that were her father’s. 20 And Jacob stole away, unknown to Laban the Syrian, in that he did not tell him that he intended to flee. 21 So he fled with all that he had. He arose and crossed the river, and headed toward the mountains of Gilead.

I was under the impression that the reason Abraham didn't want his son to marry a Cannanite woman in Genesis 24 was mainly because they served other Gods. Though that's a separate question.

2 So Abraham said to the oldest servant of his house, who ruled over all that he had, “Please, put your hand under my thigh, 3 and I will make you swear by the Lord, the God of heaven and the God of the earth, that you will not take a wife for my son from the daughters of the Canaanites, among whom I dwell; 4 but you shall go to my country and to my family, and take a wife for my son Isaac.”

Clearly though Laban had idols. Though Jacob being a man of God why would his wife steal her father's idols?