Skip to main content
naming
Source Link
Vince
  • 20.2k
  • 16
  • 45
  • 64

I have Census areas as polygons and Census population counts as points at a lower geographic level (i.e., there are many points within each polygon). I need to select 1 point from within each polygon with the highest population count (i.e., max value) so that I can export this to a new feature class as a proxy for a population-weighted centroid of each polygon. I am working in ArcGIS Pro.

See below for an example of the type of selection I am looking for (manually selected here).

enter image description here

Is there a way to achieve this in ArcProArcGIS Pro with a Basic license? I have no coding knowledge whatsoever and rely on the tools built into ArcPro.

I can provide additional information if necessary.

Thank youArcGIS Pro.

I have Census areas as polygons and Census population counts as points at a lower geographic level (i.e., there are many points within each polygon). I need to select 1 point from within each polygon with the highest population count (i.e., max value) so that I can export this to a new feature class as a proxy for a population-weighted centroid of each polygon. I am working in ArcGIS Pro.

See below for an example of the type of selection I am looking for (manually selected here).

enter image description here

Is there a way to achieve this in ArcPro with a Basic license? I have no coding knowledge whatsoever and rely on the tools built into ArcPro.

I can provide additional information if necessary.

Thank you.

I have Census areas as polygons and Census population counts as points at a lower geographic level (i.e., there are many points within each polygon). I need to select 1 point from within each polygon with the highest population count (i.e., max value) so that I can export this to a new feature class as a proxy for a population-weighted centroid of each polygon. I am working in ArcGIS Pro.

See below for an example of the type of selection I am looking for (manually selected here).

enter image description here

Is there a way to achieve this in ArcGIS Pro with a Basic license? I have no coding knowledge whatsoever and rely on the tools built into ArcGIS Pro.

Source Link

Select points with maximum value in each polygon

I have Census areas as polygons and Census population counts as points at a lower geographic level (i.e., there are many points within each polygon). I need to select 1 point from within each polygon with the highest population count (i.e., max value) so that I can export this to a new feature class as a proxy for a population-weighted centroid of each polygon. I am working in ArcGIS Pro.

See below for an example of the type of selection I am looking for (manually selected here).

enter image description here

Is there a way to achieve this in ArcPro with a Basic license? I have no coding knowledge whatsoever and rely on the tools built into ArcPro.

I can provide additional information if necessary.

Thank you.