Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackGenealogy/status/1330662382490804226
edited title
Link
PolyGeo
  • 11.2k
  • 6
  • 29
  • 57

Confirming if my Great Great Unclerelative received his medal in WW1 before he dieddeath

Became Hot Network Question
edited body
Source Link

I have this medal record (I blurred some of it) for Sidney Truckle:

enter image description here

We know that Sidney died on 15th August 1915 in Gallipoli, Canakkale, Turkey.

On this "Medal" card it states that he was "Killed in action". Yet the qualifying date is 9th July 1915.

I then looked at this Regiment or Corps when Decoration was earned document (names blurred):

enter image description here

I can see that it originally had the same date (9.7.159.7.15) . But then it was crossed out and changed to 7/8/157.8.15, even though the remakesremarks state he was killed in action on 15.8.1515.8.15.

I am trying to build a picture here. Did Sidney actually receive his medal, or did it never happen and it was granted him after his death? I am not sure exactly what this information is telling me.

I have this medal record (I blurred some of it) for Sidney Truckle:

enter image description here

We know that Sidney died on 15th August 1915 in Gallipoli, Canakkale, Turkey.

On this "Medal" card it states that he was "Killed in action". Yet the qualifying date is 9th July 1915.

I then looked at this Regiment or Corps when Decoration was earned document (names blurred):

enter image description here

I can see that it originally had the same date (9.7.15) . But then it was crossed out and changed to 7/8/15, even though the remakes state he was killed in action on 15.8.15.

I am trying to build a picture here. Did Sidney actually receive his medal, or did it never happen and it was granted him after his death? I am not sure exactly what this information is telling me.

I have this medal record (I blurred some of it) for Sidney Truckle:

enter image description here

We know that Sidney died on 15th August 1915 in Gallipoli, Canakkale, Turkey.

On this "Medal" card it states that he was "Killed in action". Yet the qualifying date is 9th July 1915.

I then looked at this Regiment or Corps when Decoration was earned document (names blurred):

enter image description here

I can see that it originally had the same date (9.7.15) . But then it was crossed out and changed to 7.8.15, even though the remarks state he was killed in action on 15.8.15.

I am trying to build a picture here. Did Sidney actually receive his medal, or did it never happen and it was granted him after his death? I am not sure exactly what this information is telling me.

Source Link

Confirming if my Great Great Uncle received his medal in WW1 before he died

I have this medal record (I blurred some of it) for Sidney Truckle:

enter image description here

We know that Sidney died on 15th August 1915 in Gallipoli, Canakkale, Turkey.

On this "Medal" card it states that he was "Killed in action". Yet the qualifying date is 9th July 1915.

I then looked at this Regiment or Corps when Decoration was earned document (names blurred):

enter image description here

I can see that it originally had the same date (9.7.15) . But then it was crossed out and changed to 7/8/15, even though the remakes state he was killed in action on 15.8.15.

I am trying to build a picture here. Did Sidney actually receive his medal, or did it never happen and it was granted him after his death? I am not sure exactly what this information is telling me.