Skip to main content

Timeline for On tags and time periods

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 27, 2017 at 9:46 comment added Harry V. Mod @PolyGeo I agree it is somewhat arbitrary however this list was based on Wikipedia's Periods in English history
Mar 27, 2017 at 7:09 comment added user104 I do take issue with @PolyGeo that the nomenclature is arbitrary -- it was a standard part of the school curriculum way back when I was at school.
Mar 27, 2017 at 7:07 comment added user104 Having reflected on this overnight, I definitely think the added complexity it would introduce (especially when extended to multiple geographies each with their own set of 'eras') outweighs any increased utility. Centuries seem a workable compromise, especially as we'll need to retain them anyway for those geographies we haven't got round to yet.
Mar 27, 2017 at 1:54 comment added PolyGeo Mod I see the switch over from ruler based periods to war based periods at 1914 to be at least as arbitrary as my proposed switch from decade to century tags being preferred from 1800 back. I have no objection to a few well-known periods (i.e. those associated with major conflicts) being given priority when time tagging but I think decade/century tags get a big boost when we think about our global user base. The edwardian-period tag seems less likely to be used by Australians than a federation-period tag for a similar time period.
Mar 26, 2017 at 17:54 history edited Harry V.Mod CC BY-SA 3.0
deleted 248 characters in body
Mar 26, 2017 at 17:53 comment added Harry V. Mod Ok that's fine, I just wanted to put this out there so we can get a better idea of how to break down named periods if that's the course we're going to take. Feel free to edit this post to make it less granular. I'll edit out the sub-periods (Jacobean, Regency, etc) for now.
Mar 26, 2017 at 17:40 comment added user104 This is more granular than I had envisaged, and I'm not the value of the granularity is worth the effort it would involve in 'eduation' and 'policing'. I need to think...
Mar 26, 2017 at 17:19 history answered Harry V.Mod CC BY-SA 3.0