Skip to main content

Timeline for On tags and time periods

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:54 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://genealogy.stackexchange.com/ with https://genealogy.stackexchange.com/
Mar 25, 2017 at 16:13 comment added Harry V. Mod @PolyGeo I don't disagree, if it is a question that is any way war-related, then world-war-2 is fine. Except on that last question you mention would put the 20th-century tag on :P
Mar 25, 2017 at 11:07 comment added PolyGeo Mod Even in Adelaide, far distant from any theatres of war, my understanding is that life was dominated by it. For example, my father raised money for the war effort, my grandfather organized gas masks and sand bags for civil defense, while my great grandfather's car was up on blocks due to the unavailability of petrol. I think most things that I would ask about the period 1939-45 would probably be tagged suitably with world-war-2. However, I'm sure there are some things like my great-grandfather's death in 1943 that I would put a decade tag like 1940s on.
Mar 25, 2017 at 10:56 comment added Harry V. Mod @PolyGeo I agree, for many WW2 questions, the world-war-2 tag is likely sufficient in terms of date tagging and would not also require 20th-century. However, I would caution against using world-war-2 to tag questions that are not at all related to the war but happen to pertain to the period 1939-1945.
Mar 25, 2017 at 10:11 comment added PolyGeo Mod I would tag it with world-war-2 and no other time period tags. If it was about records (or something else) from the decade leading up to World War 2 then I would tag it 1930s.
Mar 24, 2017 at 12:31 comment added AndyW I agree with the removal of decade tags. Events and administrative changes rarely align on decadal boundaries, and it's not often that a question/answer scope is genuinely restricted to a single decade. Social history has some strong decadal differentiation (particularly in the 20th century), but I'm not sure that family history follows suit.
Mar 24, 2017 at 2:41 comment added PolyGeo Mod If the question is about the second world war, then I would tag it simply as world-war-2, with no need for additional time period tags - we all know that was 1939-45.
Mar 17, 2017 at 1:18 comment added Jan Murphy Mod At the moment, the combined search for census-records england 1881 genealogy.stackexchange.com/… yields only 7 results; as you said, it includes questions that only mention the 1881 Census.
Mar 16, 2017 at 23:36 history answered Harry V.Mod CC BY-SA 3.0