Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/TheArqade/status/814589514719068160
edited title
Link
pinckerman
  • 40.7k
  • 21
  • 121
  • 173

Can I use linuxLinux to download games that will be played on Windows?

Source Link
Zephyr
  • 277
  • 1
  • 3
  • 9

Can I use linux to download games that will be played on Windows?

I run a dual-boot system with Linux and Windows 10. Linux is my primary OS and I use it for all my computing except for gaming.

My internet connection is fairly slow so I would like to be able to download games via Steam while booted into Linux. I would then copy the game to my Windows partition so they're playable when I reboot into Windows.

Has anyone found a way of doing so? I have read other solutions of using Steam for Windows (via WINE) and playing them in Linux. However, that isn't what I'm looking to do. I'll still install/play them on Windows, but I just want to be able to download them in the background while I'm using Linux.

While it shouldn't matter, I'm currently running Linux Mint 17.