Skip to main content
added 2 characters in body
Source Link
temporary_user_name
  • 18.8k
  • 23
  • 100
  • 239

Did "or" meaning gold and "or" meaning "yet/but" come from completely different etymological sources to become the same word, or did they have differentoverlapping roots?

I've always found this word a bit difficult to conceptualize as a conjunction partly because I come from English where or has a prominent and unrelated meaning and partly because it means gold, so it just feels odd. I'm just trying to get a better understanding of it.

Did "or" meaning gold and "or" meaning "yet/but" come from completely different etymological sources to become the same word, or did they have different roots?

I've always found this word a bit difficult to conceptualize as a conjunction partly because I come from English where or has a prominent and unrelated meaning and partly because it means gold, so it just feels odd. I'm just trying to get a better understanding of it.

Did "or" meaning gold and "or" meaning "yet/but" come from completely different etymological sources to become the same word, or did they have overlapping roots?

I've always found this word a bit difficult to conceptualize as a conjunction partly because I come from English where or has a prominent and unrelated meaning and partly because it means gold, so it just feels odd. I'm just trying to get a better understanding of it.

Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
temporary_user_name
  • 18.8k
  • 23
  • 100
  • 239

Is there any etymological connection between the two dominant meanings of "or"?

Did "or" meaning gold and "or" meaning "yet/but" come from completely different etymological sources to become the same word, or did they have different roots?

I've always found this word a bit difficult to conceptualize as a conjunction partly because I come from English where or has a prominent and unrelated meaning and partly because it means gold, so it just feels odd. I'm just trying to get a better understanding of it.