Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

erasr

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 18, 2007
I haven’t seen any day-to-day issues / lists of problems the iPad poses when working on it. So I’d like to hear other people’s feedback, and if any of you have the time to feed this stuff back to the developers, that would be super helpful!!

The iPad is fantastic, I own the M4 11”, but every few days something so BASIC will pop up that I can’t do on it, which baffles me.

Today; using Microsoft Teams, I’m writing a new post in a channel (many of you will be familiar with this). I’m a senior manager, so I do this from time to time on my MBA.

I decide to do it on my iPad for once. So I create the post, start writing it, then realise that I need a website link. I go to the website, flick back to Teams and the post draft is GONE. Gone.

It appears that it’s impossible to have Teams open with a post you’re writing, grab a website URL, then go back to it and finish the post off. Incredible.

Am I being dumb?!

Let’s hear everyone’s bizarre iPad work fails. I think we need this thread as a place for people to see just how bizarre and awkward it can be sometimes.

Again, I adore my new iPad, but it’s so close to being great for work, then sometimes so far away…

Digitalguy

macrumors 601
Apr 15, 2019
For me the other day the issue was with having 2 Excel files (from dropbox) side by side, Excel just didn't want to, so I updated both dropbox and excel and at that point excel even refused to open the files. I had to use remote desktop to finish my work. I tried now, 2 days later, and it works, but it's still a pain, much slower, since I can't use the file app but I have to mess with Dropbox sort by name and sort by last modified, with folders at the end etc.