Skip to main content
17 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 16, 2021 at 14:37 comment added jaster32123 @magma however, one thing I do love, is the access to all the rules and laws online. That's super cool, and super clear - hence why I fall back on that. Thankfully Relaxed pointed out an article there which makes it clear what I must do.
Feb 16, 2021 at 14:36 comment added jaster32123 @magma thanks - I have already involved legal counsel, the ones that take me on charge 300 EUR an hour to explain to me the history of French law (unrelated to my offence), while others outright reject it because "That's an EU law issue". In the other 90% of cases, lawyers haven't even replied to my emails. It's been, to be honest, very disappointing and stressful. My Polish embassy said they have no knowledge of my licence being suspended. So it's basically a "good luck, kid" situation :P.
Feb 16, 2021 at 14:33 comment added magma @jaster32123 I've read the reddit thread, it's hilarious - but only if you're not involved in it. Definitely seek legal counsel or contact your Polish embassy in France.
Feb 16, 2021 at 14:22 comment added jaster32123 @magma the bureaucracy is strong in France, and (at least from my personal experience), the eternal vacation state that French-people seem to be in makes it hard to communicate, get info, and indeed work. I have learned way more here than from contact with lawyers, the judge, and the prefect, who have for the most part simply ignored me. It seems someone on Reddit was considered a wanted person for this exact situation (albeit a drug offence rather than a drinking one): reddit.com/r/france/comments/c8rki5/…
Feb 16, 2021 at 14:15 comment added magma @jaster32123 that adds an entirely new and interesting layer to the whole matter - I, having worked in France, would find amusing, but not too surprising, if France considered you a fugitive for not getting a license you don't want in the first place. Maybe seek legal counsel.
Feb 16, 2021 at 14:04 history edited magma CC BY-SA 4.0
added 901 characters in body
Feb 16, 2021 at 13:59 comment added jaster32123 @magma don't worry - totally valid question! I was afraid that if I left France while I had an obligation to change my driving licence, I would be considered as a wanted person for not completing my obligations regarding my offence. Hence, why I am still here - I want to understand perfectly and do what is required so I have no obligation to France anymore. It seems that changing my licence is obligatory, regardless of whether I want a licence or not.
Feb 16, 2021 at 13:52 comment added magma @jaster32123 you don't want to live in France, you don't want to stay in France, you don't want to get a French license. Why are you still in France? (I don't mean to mock, I'm asking seriously). Why don't you move to your chosen country and get a license there?
Feb 16, 2021 at 13:41 history edited magma CC BY-SA 4.0
clarified that France can, in the OP situation, cancel their license - and that other member states can still limit validity of license
Feb 16, 2021 at 12:57 comment added jaster32123 @MarkJohnson a permanent one would be issued after 1 year, provided I pass a medical exam in one year. This means, that for 1 year I am on a temporary licence only recognised in France (though as you pointed out the wording on the EU site is may). This, in theory, obliges me to stay in a country that I do not want to stay in to get a driving licence.
Feb 16, 2021 at 12:07 comment added Mark Johnson @jaster32123 France also issues plastic cards, it may take some time to produce. This may be the reason for the temporary licence, which would enable you to start driving immediately until the permanent one can be delivered. You should ask if this is the case.
Feb 16, 2021 at 11:25 comment added jaster32123 @MarkJohnson I've asked the prefect, which have informed me I will be issued with a temporary licence. As you have pointed out in this doc: europa.eu/youreurope/citizens/vehicles/driving-licence/…, it says "Provisional or temporary licences and international driving permits are not regulated at EU level and may not be recognised in other EU countries." Additionally, this still leaves the problem of the obligation to travel to France every so often.
Feb 16, 2021 at 11:21 comment added Mark Johnson @jaster32123 I don't think that is the case. They will properly issue (exchange) a French one based on the Polish one. It should also contain a reference in Field 12. If your fear is that you must go through the driver's test again, then I think that fear is unfounded. The licence has not been revoked.
Feb 16, 2021 at 10:50 comment added jaster32123 The thing is, the French state does not want to give me my driving licence back. In essence, they are asking I apply for a new one - (I can't exchange it per se since it has been taken from me). Additionally, this directive is (again, love the EU for this) super clear on this, but in practice French law does not seem to have any equivalent.
Feb 16, 2021 at 6:32 comment added Mark Johnson When a Driver's licence has been converted/exchanged, Field 12 should contain the original driver's licence information: '70.licence_number.country_code'.
Feb 16, 2021 at 5:11 review First posts
Feb 17, 2021 at 7:49
Feb 16, 2021 at 5:09 history answered magma CC BY-SA 4.0