Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

34
  • 1
    jwentig - "A license is suspended EU wide, so if the French authorities confiscate your Polish license, it's suspended in both release it back to you." @jwenting sure I understand; I was told my licence would NOT be returned to me, and I must do a French one (which is really another crux of my issue). This is where I am lost, because if this is the case, I must present myself at the Medical Commission in France every 6 months, effectively making any long distance permanent moves unfeasible. In essence, I don't mind doing 4 months of suspension; what I don't want, is a French licence.
    – jaster32123
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 16:49
  • 1
    @jwenting another thing that gets me is - besides the fact that the licence was taken from me, no legal document from the administrative or judicial side talks about suspension of my licence. They only say "banned from driving on French territory for a period of 4 months", so regardless of whether I have a driving licence or not. What I don't get, is why they can't give me back my original document after the time is served, but they insist I switch to a French licence.
    – jaster32123
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 16:55
  • 1
    @jwenting, Mark, I have contacted my government who have confirmed that I hold a valid licence (at least in Poland, on paper) - adding even more fuel to my confusion.
    – jaster32123
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 17:16
  • 2
    @jaster32123 See: Driving licence exchange and recognition in the EU - Your Europe Obligatory exchange of your driving licence in another EU country 'You have to exchange your driving licence if:... You commit a traffic offence in the country where you live' Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 17:21
  • 2
    @Relaxed Ahh this must be new! Either way - thats fine, I'm not trying to hide what I did, I just want to get out of France and not be forced to come back just for a driving licence :P Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 19:09