Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

36
  • 2
    What does "requesting a duplicate" mean in practice? Reporting the old one lost or stolen? Or are you legally allowed to hold two separate simultaneously valid driver licenses from a single state?
    – TooTea
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 15:35
  • 3
    What have the French authorities done with your driver's license? I would actually suppose that they have sent it to the Polish authorities and notified them about your suspension.
    – jarnbjo
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 15:51
  • 2
    I am essentially asking if France has the right to suspend and then destroy a document given to me by my home country.
    – jaster32123
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 16:50
  • 2
    @chx my 4 months have passed. Now I am dealing with the bureaucracy :) I have paid my debt, and am remorseful (and a tad bit smarter). There is no debate about what I have done - my question is, what now? Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 17:56
  • 1
    @jaster32123 That's not the question you asked. I have the feeling you're disclosing details one by one and trying to frame the situation as more complicated than it is to escape the consequences. The law doesn't leave you in limbo or create any special obligation to stay or come back to France. For now, you are a resident of France, you should simply follow the procedure. If and when you move to another country, you can take it from there as described in my answer.
    – Relaxed
    Commented Feb 16, 2021 at 12:27