J is for Jurassic Park

1993, a solid 8 stars on IMDb and Jurassic Park squeaks into the IMDb Top 250 at #250.

Hammond: All major theme parks have delays. When they opened Disneyland in 1956, nothing worked!
Malcolm: Yeah, but, John, if The Pirates of the Caribbean breaks down, the pirates don’t eat the tourists.

Glorious fun. I remember going to a preview showing at the Lounge Cinema in Headingley on a bit of a whim. I was wandering past, noticed they were doing a preview that evening so popped in, fully expecting it to be sold out. Luckily for me it wasn’t, so I got to see one of the most talked-about movies of the year a day early. Woo!

The plot is fairly simple. Dr John Hammond (Dickie Attenborough) has built a dinosaur theme park – featuring actual dinosaurs which he’s managed to clone from DNA extracted from mosquitos trapped in amber. Hijinks, naturally, ensue. Bad Things happen, Jeff Goldblum gets to be, well, Jeff Goldblum. Sam Neill and Laura Dern wander round looking amazed by everything, and two cute kids tag along mainly so they can fall into peril every now and again.

Two things fascinate me about this movie. The first of which can be summed up by this picture.

Bob Peck | Jurassic ParkMr Bob Peck as Muldoon, game warden for Jurassic Park. Look at those thighs! Our Bob must have put in some serious work on them – if you watch the movie again you’ll notice that he keeps stopping and putting one foot up on something wherever possible. You can just hear him thinking “yesss, check out these thighs. Check them out. *flexes quads*”

I really wanted to get hold of a copy of the movie before I posted this so I could get some screencaps of him doing this, but time got the better of me.

The second thing is something I refer to as The Sam Neill Hair Theory. Again, time got away from me so I’ve not got the evidence I need to back it up, so perhaps I’ll save that for another day. I’m such a tease, I know…

previously, on The A-Z Challenge
A is for Alien
B is for The Breakfast Club
C is for Catching Fire
D is for Die Hard
E is for The Empire Strikes Bank
F is for Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
G is for Goldfinger (and GoldenEye)
H is for Howl’s Moving Castle
I is for Inception

Author: dave

Book reviewer, occasional writer, photographer, coffee-lover, cyclist, spoon carver and stationery geek.

19 thoughts on “J is for Jurassic Park”

    1. Hi Stephanie

      Ah yes. The Sam Neill Hair Theory. I think it deserves its own post, but I need to gather some more evidence before I post it up! Watch this space…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.