Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 6, 2010 at 13:01 comment added Colin Fine In Latin the plural is neither 'statii' nor 'stati': it is 'statūs' (4th declension, or "-u stem" to an Indo-Eorpeanist)
Aug 14, 2010 at 20:39 comment added cori That's a good question. "Statuses" just sounded wrong, I suppose; I never really considered whether it was correct or not until I read this question. The place I've used the plural form the most is in discussions about reports from a business system at my employer, and "statii" was the commonly used term there. Now I know better....
Aug 14, 2010 at 20:34 history edited cori CC BY-SA 2.5
clarification
Aug 14, 2010 at 16:05 comment added ShreevatsaR Why on earth would you use "statii"? Even if you were forming Latin-style plurals for some reason, "statii" would only be the plural of "statius". It's really mystifying why people want to put two ‘i’s; see e.g. Language Log posts here, here, here.
Aug 14, 2010 at 11:45 history answered cori CC BY-SA 2.5