Skip to main content
Post Locked by CommunityBot
Post Migrated Away to ell.stackexchange.com by Edwin Ashworth, jsw29, Greybeard
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by Edwin Ashworth, jsw29, Greybeard
Notice added Needs detailed answers by tchrist
Question Protected by tchrist
Became Hot Network Question
added 2 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link

I'm looking for a verb or phrasal verb to fill in the blank in the situation below:

So me and my friend have planned a trip this Saturday and we agreed I would come pick her up at 8 a.m. Saturday comes, I arrive at her place 8 sharp and I'm disappointed to find out that she's still busy combing her hair, putting on makeup, applying sunscreen, choosing the right outfit, so on and so forth. It's been 10 minutes and I'm now impatient. I yell: "Stop _____ and hurry up."

So me and my friend have planned a trip this Saturday and we agreed I would come pick her up at 8 a.m. Saturday comes, I arrive at her place 8 sharp and I'm disappointed to find out that she's still busy combing her hair, putting on makeup, applying sunscreen, choosing the right outfit, so on and so forth. It's been 10 minutes and I'm now impatient. I yell: "Stop _____ and hurry up."

My first thought for the hypothetical situation is "idling" or "procrastinating" but she's clearly preparing for the trip rather than doing something irrelevant or not doing anything at all. Then what would be the word/phrase that fits best here? Or do I have to specify what she's doing, like: "Stop picking clothes, just choose one and hurry up! Stop putting on so much makeup and hurry up!" That would be quite cumbersome in my opinion. Or is there no such concise catch-all word/phrase for "to run around doing everything at the last minute in an inefficient, time-consuming manner" and I can only shout "hurry up" again and again?

I'm looking for a verb or phrasal verb to fill in the blank in the situation below:

So me and my friend have planned a trip this Saturday and we agreed I would come pick her up at 8 a.m. Saturday comes, I arrive at her place 8 sharp and I'm disappointed to find out that she's still busy combing her hair, putting on makeup, applying sunscreen, choosing the right outfit, so on and so forth. It's been 10 minutes and I'm now impatient. I yell: "Stop _____ and hurry up."

My first thought for the hypothetical situation is "idling" or "procrastinating" but she's clearly preparing for the trip rather than doing something irrelevant or not doing anything at all. Then what would be the word/phrase that fits best here? Or do I have to specify what she's doing, like: "Stop picking clothes, just choose one and hurry up! Stop putting on so much makeup and hurry up!" That would be quite cumbersome in my opinion. Or is there no such concise catch-all word/phrase for "to run around doing everything at the last minute in an inefficient, time-consuming manner" and I can only shout "hurry up" again and again?

I'm looking for a verb or phrasal verb to fill in the blank in the situation below:

So me and my friend have planned a trip this Saturday and we agreed I would come pick her up at 8 a.m. Saturday comes, I arrive at her place 8 sharp and I'm disappointed to find out that she's still busy combing her hair, putting on makeup, applying sunscreen, choosing the right outfit, so on and so forth. It's been 10 minutes and I'm now impatient. I yell: "Stop _____ and hurry up."

My first thought for the hypothetical situation is "idling" or "procrastinating" but she's clearly preparing for the trip rather than doing something irrelevant or not doing anything at all. Then what would be the word/phrase that fits best here? Or do I have to specify what she's doing, like: "Stop picking clothes, just choose one and hurry up! Stop putting on so much makeup and hurry up!" That would be quite cumbersome in my opinion. Or is there no such concise catch-all word/phrase for "to run around doing everything at the last minute in an inefficient, time-consuming manner" and I can only shout "hurry up" again and again?

edited tags
Link
KillingTime
  • 6.3k
  • 71
  • 34
  • 40
Source Link

"Stop __________ and hurry up!"

I'm looking for a verb or phrasal verb to fill in the blank in the situation below:

So me and my friend have planned a trip this Saturday and we agreed I would come pick her up at 8 a.m. Saturday comes, I arrive at her place 8 sharp and I'm disappointed to find out that she's still busy combing her hair, putting on makeup, applying sunscreen, choosing the right outfit, so on and so forth. It's been 10 minutes and I'm now impatient. I yell: "Stop _____ and hurry up."

My first thought for the hypothetical situation is "idling" or "procrastinating" but she's clearly preparing for the trip rather than doing something irrelevant or not doing anything at all. Then what would be the word/phrase that fits best here? Or do I have to specify what she's doing, like: "Stop picking clothes, just choose one and hurry up! Stop putting on so much makeup and hurry up!" That would be quite cumbersome in my opinion. Or is there no such concise catch-all word/phrase for "to run around doing everything at the last minute in an inefficient, time-consuming manner" and I can only shout "hurry up" again and again?