Skip to main content
corrected typo
Source Link
tchrist
  • 136k
  • 49
  • 372
  • 598

Some time ago, I was watching a period drama that I don't remember the title of and can't recall enough about to be able to ascertain the title of. I believe it was British, though. In it was used a term ending in "-wife" that I didn't understand the meaning of, so I googled it. When I did, I learned that it was an archaic term for a woman who in olden times, back when it was illegal, would discretelydiscreetly perform abortions. I do distinctly remember that it ended in "-wife" because I remember immediately making a clear association with the term "midwife" and thinking to myself that I should've been able to work out what it meant because of that and the given context. Also, it may have been a strictly British English term, not American English, but I can't swear by that.

I've tried to find the term again using Google and searching for words ending with "wife," but after looking quite exhaustively, I can't find it. I'm thinking maybe that's because it's an archaic term, a term no longer in use, so it's not coming up on the normal wordfinder sites, like for Scrabble and whatnot. Or maybe that's because it's not "family friendly" enough for such sites-- I don't know.

Whatever the case, if anyone knows what this old-fashioned term is and would please tell me what it is here as an answer, I'd very much appreciate it.

Some time ago, I was watching a period drama that I don't remember the title of and can't recall enough about to be able to ascertain the title of. I believe it was British, though. In it was used a term ending in "-wife" that I didn't understand the meaning of, so I googled it. When I did, I learned that it was an archaic term for a woman who in olden times, back when it was illegal, would discretely perform abortions. I do distinctly remember that it ended in "-wife" because I remember immediately making a clear association with the term "midwife" and thinking to myself that I should've been able to work out what it meant because of that and the given context. Also, it may have been a strictly British English term, not American English, but I can't swear by that.

I've tried to find the term again using Google and searching for words ending with "wife," but after looking quite exhaustively, I can't find it. I'm thinking maybe that's because it's an archaic term, a term no longer in use, so it's not coming up on the normal wordfinder sites, like for Scrabble and whatnot. Or maybe that's because it's not "family friendly" enough for such sites-- I don't know.

Whatever the case, if anyone knows what this old-fashioned term is and would please tell me what it is here as an answer, I'd very much appreciate it.

Some time ago, I was watching a period drama that I don't remember the title of and can't recall enough about to be able to ascertain the title of. I believe it was British, though. In it was used a term ending in "-wife" that I didn't understand the meaning of, so I googled it. When I did, I learned that it was an archaic term for a woman who in olden times, back when it was illegal, would discreetly perform abortions. I do distinctly remember that it ended in "-wife" because I remember immediately making a clear association with the term "midwife" and thinking to myself that I should've been able to work out what it meant because of that and the given context. Also, it may have been a strictly British English term, not American English, but I can't swear by that.

I've tried to find the term again using Google and searching for words ending with "wife," but after looking quite exhaustively, I can't find it. I'm thinking maybe that's because it's an archaic term, a term no longer in use, so it's not coming up on the normal wordfinder sites, like for Scrabble and whatnot. Or maybe that's because it's not "family friendly" enough for such sites-- I don't know.

Whatever the case, if anyone knows what this old-fashioned term is and would please tell me what it is here as an answer, I'd very much appreciate it.

Tweeted twitter.com/StackEnglish/status/1605624152806887425
spelling
Source Link
Jim
  • 33.4k
  • 10
  • 76
  • 129

Some time ago, I was watching a period drama that I don't remember the title of and can't recall enough about to be able to ascertain the title of. I believe it was British, though. In it was used a term ending in "-wife" that I didn't understand the meaning of, so I googled it. When I did, I learned that it was an archaic term for a woman who in olden times, back when it was illegal, would discretely perform abortions. I do distinctly remember that it ended in "-wife" because I remember immediately making a clear association with the term "midwife" and thinking to myself that I should've been able to work out what it meant because of that and the given context. Also, it may have been a strictly British English term, not American English, but I can't swear by that.

I've tried to find the term again using Google and searching for words ending with "wife," but after looking quite exhaustively, I can't find it. I'm thinking maybe that's because it's an archaic term, a term no longer in use, so it's not coming up on the normal wordfinder sightssites, like for Scrabble and whatnot. Or maybe that's because it's not "family friendly" enough for such sightssites-- I don't know.

Whatever the case, if anyone knows what this old-fashioned term is and would please tell me what it is here as an answer, I'd very much appreciate it.

Some time ago, I was watching a period drama that I don't remember the title of and can't recall enough about to be able to ascertain the title of. I believe it was British, though. In it was used a term ending in "-wife" that I didn't understand the meaning of, so I googled it. When I did, I learned that it was an archaic term for a woman who in olden times, back when it was illegal, would discretely perform abortions. I do distinctly remember that it ended in "-wife" because I remember immediately making a clear association with the term "midwife" and thinking to myself that I should've been able to work out what it meant because of that and the given context. Also, it may have been a strictly British English term, not American English, but I can't swear by that.

I've tried to find the term again using Google and searching for words ending with "wife," but after looking quite exhaustively, I can't find it. I'm thinking maybe that's because it's an archaic term, a term no longer in use, so it's not coming up on the normal wordfinder sights, like for Scrabble and whatnot. Or maybe that's because it's not "family friendly" enough for such sights-- I don't know.

Whatever the case, if anyone knows what this old-fashioned term is and would please tell me what it is here as an answer, I'd very much appreciate it.

Some time ago, I was watching a period drama that I don't remember the title of and can't recall enough about to be able to ascertain the title of. I believe it was British, though. In it was used a term ending in "-wife" that I didn't understand the meaning of, so I googled it. When I did, I learned that it was an archaic term for a woman who in olden times, back when it was illegal, would discretely perform abortions. I do distinctly remember that it ended in "-wife" because I remember immediately making a clear association with the term "midwife" and thinking to myself that I should've been able to work out what it meant because of that and the given context. Also, it may have been a strictly British English term, not American English, but I can't swear by that.

I've tried to find the term again using Google and searching for words ending with "wife," but after looking quite exhaustively, I can't find it. I'm thinking maybe that's because it's an archaic term, a term no longer in use, so it's not coming up on the normal wordfinder sites, like for Scrabble and whatnot. Or maybe that's because it's not "family friendly" enough for such sites-- I don't know.

Whatever the case, if anyone knows what this old-fashioned term is and would please tell me what it is here as an answer, I'd very much appreciate it.

Source Link
Benjamin Harman
  • 10.5k
  • 6
  • 30
  • 68

Seeking old-fashioned term ending in "-wife" for a woman who performed abortions back when they were illegal and done in secret

Some time ago, I was watching a period drama that I don't remember the title of and can't recall enough about to be able to ascertain the title of. I believe it was British, though. In it was used a term ending in "-wife" that I didn't understand the meaning of, so I googled it. When I did, I learned that it was an archaic term for a woman who in olden times, back when it was illegal, would discretely perform abortions. I do distinctly remember that it ended in "-wife" because I remember immediately making a clear association with the term "midwife" and thinking to myself that I should've been able to work out what it meant because of that and the given context. Also, it may have been a strictly British English term, not American English, but I can't swear by that.

I've tried to find the term again using Google and searching for words ending with "wife," but after looking quite exhaustively, I can't find it. I'm thinking maybe that's because it's an archaic term, a term no longer in use, so it's not coming up on the normal wordfinder sights, like for Scrabble and whatnot. Or maybe that's because it's not "family friendly" enough for such sights-- I don't know.

Whatever the case, if anyone knows what this old-fashioned term is and would please tell me what it is here as an answer, I'd very much appreciate it.