Skip to main content

Timeline for Slang word for "police station"

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Dec 17, 2022 at 13:17 review Suggested edits
Dec 17, 2022 at 13:55
Dec 17, 2022 at 0:51 comment added Andrew Lazarus Common chant at SF Bay Area protests where protestors think law enforcement is overreacting: "Bad cop, no donut."
Dec 16, 2022 at 14:16 vote accept Divizna
Dec 16, 2022 at 6:57 comment added End Antisemitic Hate @Divizna I passed on your thanks to my friend, and his immediate reply was "you didn't post my name did you?!". LOL. My response was to share with him that I already told his granddaughter all about this years ago and that it had slipped my mind to mention it to him until now. ;)
Dec 16, 2022 at 0:44 comment added Divizna Wow, there are some people with truly exquisite sources here! Please pass my thanks to your friend for sharing his wisdom, and also thank you for taking the effort to ask. I'll probably not end up using "donut shop", though, because I'm afraid it wouldn't be comprehensible for the reader. But if I'm ever writing something where I get a good chance to establish the meaning first, I sure hope I'll remember this.
Dec 15, 2022 at 20:47 comment added LorenzoDonati4Ukraine-OnStrike @MichaelSeifert I can't believe it! I thought I was being a little carried away by the cliché, but it's really true! Citing from that article Some departments even call them “power rings.”, that made me ROFL (now I can't avoid thinking to some kind of mixup between Kojak and Lord of the Rings! :-)
Dec 15, 2022 at 19:02 comment added Michael Seifert @LorenzoDonatisupportUkraine: Here's a history of the association. Basically, donut shops open early, close late, and sell an inexpensive food that doesn't need prep time and can be eaten quickly.
Dec 15, 2022 at 18:04 comment added LorenzoDonati4Ukraine-OnStrike Something that always amazed me in films depicting USA cops was their (ab)use of doughnuts, such as there were no other sweet "fast" food available in the whole USA (e.g. why no cookie eating cops? Mars bars anyone?). This seemed one of those movie tropes, but now your answer makes me really think about what makes "donuts" so attractive for cops! :-)
Dec 15, 2022 at 16:32 comment added delliottg Cop shop was the first thing that came to mind for me (American English).
Dec 15, 2022 at 15:49 comment added Chris H @TobySpeight my experience visiting LA suggests that cops also hang out in literal doughnut shops (so did I because the hotel breakfast was overpriced and the coffee bad)
Dec 15, 2022 at 15:44 comment added Colin Fine Certainly, precinct was the word that occurred to me. But my knowledge of New York is very limited.
Dec 15, 2022 at 10:51 comment added Toby Speight Your final sentence completely explains that lyric in Tom's Diner by Suzuanne Vega. Not knowing that slang, I'd always assumed they gathered in a place that literally sells doughnuts. BTW, cop shop is also in general use in UK (though I'm not sure what words actual offenders use).
Dec 14, 2022 at 23:53 history answered End Antisemitic Hate CC BY-SA 4.0