Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 1
    I'm almost sure that "pig" goes back to at least 1960s, so it's likely related words would too, but I was under the impression that it's British. Can you confirm its usage in the USA?
    – Divizna
    Commented Dec 14, 2022 at 15:37
  • 1
    @Divizna The usage of "pig" was common in the 1970s in the USA and I thought it originated there, but I can't recall hearing or reading "pig pen" while I was there (1970s).
    – LPH
    Commented Dec 14, 2022 at 15:43
  • That sounds hopeful! As for you not hearing it (or remembering), I'm guessing you weren't part of the community :o))
    – Divizna
    Commented Dec 14, 2022 at 15:57
  • 1
    @Divizna That would be contradictory since it was in the community that I could hear the term "pig" (I must say that I heard it then from the mouths of the young (of which I was part) not from the mouths of family men, for instance).
    – LPH
    Commented Dec 14, 2022 at 16:01
  • In Irish (as in Gaeilge), "muc truc" ("pig lorry/truck", and it rhymes in Irish) is a slang term for police car, and I've heard it mixed in to English in Ireland as well (with people who switch back and forth between Irish and English all the time). Commented Dec 18, 2022 at 3:29