Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 1
    Searching for the right way to say something while speaking isn't the same thing as aphasia. I will often use "um" or "uh" during the normal flow of a conversation when considering the words I want to use, but I also have epilepsy induced aphasia during partial seizures and I can speak from personal experience that the two have nothing in common
    – Kevin
    Commented May 8, 2020 at 16:42
  • @KevinWells - As far as I know I don't have aphasia but I do sometimes suffer from the ums and ahs. I think the other answers made me forget the wording of the original question and think of someone whose speech was diminished greatly by the ums and ahs. One thing I learned in the further Wikipedia reading mentioned in my answer is that the medical community classifies different types of aphasias. At the time of my edit, disfluency was listed as a symptom of "expressive aphasia". Willing to retract answer if it's objectionable to you though.
    – bf2020
    Commented May 8, 2020 at 17:03
  • Not objectionable, and it seems that you're right on this that it can be part of expressive aphasia. That seems like a strange classification to me since it isn't really an inability to speak and is almost universal among speakers of every language, but everything is on a spectrum
    – Kevin
    Commented May 8, 2020 at 18:15
  • And I certainly didn't mean to come across as offended or anything, just wanted to speak to the differences from personal experience. The normal um's and uh's of conversations for me are just giving me a bit of extra time to think through exactly how I want to say something, whereas when I have an episode of aphasia it is like my brain literally can't put words to the thoughts I'm having. Sometimes I can get out a word or two, but sometimes I use entirely the wrong words or no words at all. That said I know different people have different experiences of aphasia so I retract my criticism
    – Kevin
    Commented May 8, 2020 at 18:19