Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 9, 2020 at 14:25 comment added Richard Kayser @Nosajimiki Speaking of funny, I enjoyed your profile. For some reason, it reminded me of this Nietzsche aphorism: What? Is man just God's mistake? Or is God just man's mistake? [TI Arrows 9, Cambridge]
May 9, 2020 at 14:12 comment added Richard Kayser @Nosajimiki I'm glad I made you laugh. I LOLed myself. :-) I was simply trying to craft the opposite of Truer words were never spoken, not seeking logical consistency.That said, one might argue that (1) at least some non-words can be spoken, e.g., it's not hard to "say" garpaptic, and (2) a bigger problem concerns the characterization of given string of non-words as truer or falser than other possible strings of non-words.
May 7, 2020 at 18:33 comment added Nosajimiki I did not downvote (only because it made me laugh), but the OP asked for "the opposite of the phrase" meaning they want a word or phrase that has the opposite meaning of those words when treated as a singular idea. Because non-words are unspoken, and the target of your remark has spoken, you are acknowledging that "falser" does not apply here one way or the other; so, it's not really the opposite.
May 7, 2020 at 16:44 comment added Richard Kayser Re downvote: Someone has zero or maybe even a negative sense of humor. :-) I answered the question exactly as posed.
May 7, 2020 at 13:48 history edited Richard Kayser CC BY-SA 4.0
added 263 characters in body
May 7, 2020 at 13:44 comment added Richard Kayser @Nosajimiki Thanks. According to M-W, unspoken means "not spoken : expressed or understood without being directly stated," e.g., an unspoken agreement/assumption, an unspoken rule. So in one sense unspoken still implies expressed, which I was trying to avoid. Still, unspoken could simply mean not spoken, so I've added it as a possibility.
May 7, 2020 at 13:15 comment added Nosajimiki non-spoken -> unspoken.
May 7, 2020 at 2:31 history edited Richard Kayser CC BY-SA 4.0
added 33 characters in body
May 7, 2020 at 1:44 history answered Richard Kayser CC BY-SA 4.0