Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Which version of OED, WS? Some of us have outlived many updates. Commented Jan 31, 2020 at 12:27
  • 1
    @EdwinAshworth It is the current online edition, as of this morning. One thing puzzles me, which you may be able to help with. I have always used "palaver", and mostly heard it used as a mass noun. Some of the examples above have it as a count noun. Indeed the phrase "a load of palaver" sticks in my mind.
    – WS2
    Commented Jan 31, 2020 at 13:33
  • I've only ever come across "What a palaver!" / "There was a right palaver" etc. I think the CGEL definition of 'count usage' is easily the most useful; 'palaver' is non-count in both my examples, as you'd never hear "There were two / a few / ... palavers". Compare "I take a great pride in my achievements". Commented Jan 31, 2020 at 15:23
  • @EdwinAshworth I only seem to recall usages such as "all that confounded palaver", "a lot of palaver" etc.
    – WS2
    Commented Jan 31, 2020 at 18:58