Skip to main content
Updating personal anecdote to reflect my actual usage better.
Source Link
EenBeetje
  • 384
  • 1
  • 7

The reason is that standard English prohibits the use of double modals, which 'can' and 'will' both are, as addressed in this post. Some dialects, like my own, incorporate double modals like 'might could,' 'might should,' 'should ought'ought to should,' etc. but I don't believe I've ever heard 'will can.'

The reason is that standard English prohibits the use of double modals, which 'can' and 'will' both are, as addressed in this post. Some dialects, like my own, incorporate double modals like 'might could,' 'might should,' 'should ought to,' etc. but I don't believe I've ever heard 'will can.'

The reason is that standard English prohibits the use of double modals, which 'can' and 'will' both are, as addressed in this post. Some dialects, like my own, incorporate double modals like 'might could,' 'might should,' 'ought to should,' etc. but I don't believe I've ever heard 'will can.'

Source Link
EenBeetje
  • 384
  • 1
  • 7

The reason is that standard English prohibits the use of double modals, which 'can' and 'will' both are, as addressed in this post. Some dialects, like my own, incorporate double modals like 'might could,' 'might should,' 'should ought to,' etc. but I don't believe I've ever heard 'will can.'