Skip to main content
Re-clarified title; removed colorful commentary; tweaked punctuation.
Source Link

A word sounding like "weatherall" meaningto refer to "someone who doesn'tdoesn’t have the courage"

Possibly the strangest question I've asked, but, I was talking to someone and used the sentence:

He doesn't have the weatherall to go sky-diving.

What I meant was that he doesn't have the courage, or the 'cojones'“cojones”, but I'm not sure what word was trying to come out of my mouth. I feel like I'm going crazy and a similar sounding/meaning word doesn't even exist at this point.

Possibly (but unlikely) it might be a part of a regional dialect (I'm from rural Australia - we just love messing up English), or a bastardization of weather“weather” (the verb obviously)?

A word sounding like "weatherall" meaning "someone who doesn't have the courage"

Possibly the strangest question I've asked, but, I was talking to someone and used the sentence:

He doesn't have the weatherall to go sky-diving.

What I meant was that he doesn't have the courage, or the 'cojones', but I'm not sure what word was trying to come out of my mouth. I feel like I'm going crazy and a similar sounding/meaning word doesn't even exist at this point.

Possibly (but unlikely) it might be a part of a regional dialect (I'm from rural Australia - we just love messing up English), or a bastardization of weather (the verb obviously)?

A word sounding like "weatherall" to refer to "someone who doesn’t have the courage"

I was talking to someone and used the sentence:

He doesn't have the weatherall to go sky-diving.

What I meant was that he doesn't have the courage, or the “cojones”, but I'm not sure what word was trying to come out of my mouth. I feel like I'm going crazy and a similar sounding/meaning word doesn't even exist at this point.

Possibly (but unlikely) it might be a part of a regional dialect (I'm from rural Australia we just love messing up English), or a bastardization of “weather” (the verb obviously)?

removed clickbait and clarified the title (this question is on HNQ)
Link

What A word am I thinking of -- and more importantly, does it even exist?sounding like "weatherall" meaning "someone who doesn't have the courage"

Tweeted twitter.com/StackEnglish/status/1057965661719351304
Source Link
user141562
  • 453
  • 4
  • 4

What word am I thinking of -- and more importantly, does it even exist?

Possibly the strangest question I've asked, but, I was talking to someone and used the sentence:

He doesn't have the weatherall to go sky-diving.

What I meant was that he doesn't have the courage, or the 'cojones', but I'm not sure what word was trying to come out of my mouth. I feel like I'm going crazy and a similar sounding/meaning word doesn't even exist at this point.

Possibly (but unlikely) it might be a part of a regional dialect (I'm from rural Australia - we just love messing up English), or a bastardization of weather (the verb obviously)?