Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Tweeted twitter.com/StackEnglish/status/1025350859725656064
improved formatting, clarified under what form the "treat" is
Source Link
Mari-Lou A
  • 91.9k
  • 92
  • 322
  • 588

Word for people who ask for treatto be treated but never take oneaccept when offered

I'd like to apologize in advance if I don't make sense. I'm not a native English speaker.

Anyway, here's the background: Back home, it is common that your friends ask you for a treat for every little thing, just another reason to celebrate. By treat, I mean treating someone to food and drink/hosting a (dinner) party just for a person or two. However, there are a few people who ONLY ASK for a treat but never really take oneaccept it. And that is not the end of the story, they then complain that we never treat them. 

I know its not a very common scenario, but I'd like to know if there's a word for such people or such a behavior?

For example, I'd like to use it in such a sentence: Just invite him. He'll not join us anyway, he is a "requested-word".

Thanks in advance.

Just invite him. He'll not join us anyway, he is a _________.

Word for people who ask for treat but never take one when offered

I'd like to apologize in advance if I don't make sense. I'm not a native English speaker.

Anyway, here's the background: Back home, it is common that your friends ask you for a treat for every little thing, just another reason to celebrate. However, there are a few people who ONLY ASK for a treat but never really take one. And that is not the end of the story, they complain that we never treat them. I know its not a very common scenario, but I'd like to know if there's a word for such people or such a behavior?

For example, I'd like to use it in such a sentence: Just invite him. He'll not join us anyway, he is a "requested-word".

Thanks in advance.

Word for people who ask to be treated but never accept when offered

I'd like to apologize in advance if I don't make sense. I'm not a native English speaker.

Anyway, here's the background: Back home, it is common that your friends ask you for a treat for every little thing, just another reason to celebrate. By treat, I mean treating someone to food and drink/hosting a (dinner) party just for a person or two. However, there are a few people who ONLY ASK for a treat but never really accept it. And that is not the end of the story, they then complain that we never treat them. 

I know its not a very common scenario, but I'd like to know if there's a word for such people or such a behavior?

For example, I'd like to use it in such a sentence:

Just invite him. He'll not join us anyway, he is a _________.

deleted 126 characters in body
Source Link
Dan
  • 31
  • 3

I'd like to apologize in advance if I don't make sense. I'm not a native English speaker.

Anyway, here's the background: Back home, it is common that your friends ask you for a treat for every little thing, just another reason to celebrate. However, there are a few people who ONLY ASK for a treat but never really take one. And that is not the end of the story, they complain that we never treat them. I know its not a very common scenario, but I'd like to know if there's a word for such people or such a behavior?

For example, I'd like to use it in such a sentence: Just invite him. He'll not join us anyway, he is a "requested-word". But I was wondering if you could suggest a non-offensive word that can be used in front of the person without hurting them.

Thanks in advance.

I'd like to apologize in advance if I don't make sense. I'm not a native English speaker.

Anyway, here's the background: Back home, it is common that your friends ask you for a treat for every little thing, just another reason to celebrate. However, there are a few people who ONLY ASK for a treat but never really take one. And that is not the end of the story, they complain that we never treat them. I know its not a very common scenario, but I'd like to know if there's a word for such people or such a behavior?

For example, I'd like to use it in such a sentence: Just invite him. He'll not join us anyway, he is a "requested-word". But I was wondering if you could suggest a non-offensive word that can be used in front of the person without hurting them.

Thanks in advance.

I'd like to apologize in advance if I don't make sense. I'm not a native English speaker.

Anyway, here's the background: Back home, it is common that your friends ask you for a treat for every little thing, just another reason to celebrate. However, there are a few people who ONLY ASK for a treat but never really take one. And that is not the end of the story, they complain that we never treat them. I know its not a very common scenario, but I'd like to know if there's a word for such people or such a behavior?

For example, I'd like to use it in such a sentence: Just invite him. He'll not join us anyway, he is a "requested-word".

Thanks in advance.

added 250 characters in body
Source Link
Dan
  • 31
  • 3

I'd like to apologize in advance if I don't make sense. I'm not a native English speaker.

Anyway, here's the background: Back home, it is common that your friends ask you for a treat for every little thing, just another reason to celebrate. However, there are a few people who ONLY ASK for a treat but never really take one. And that is not the end of the story, they complain that we never treat them. I know its not a very common scenario, but I'd like to know if there's a word for such people or such a behavior?

For example, I'd like to use it in such a sentence: Just invite him. He'll not join us anyway, he is a "requested-word". But I was wondering if you could suggest a non-offensive word that can be used in front of the person without hurting them.

Thanks in advance.

I'd like to apologize in advance if I don't make sense. I'm not a native English speaker.

Anyway, here's the background: Back home, it is common that your friends ask you for a treat for every little thing, just another reason to celebrate. However, there are a few people who ONLY ASK for a treat but never really take one. And that is not the end of the story, they complain that we never treat them. I know its not a very common scenario, but I'd like to know if there's a word for such people or such a behavior?

Thanks in advance.

I'd like to apologize in advance if I don't make sense. I'm not a native English speaker.

Anyway, here's the background: Back home, it is common that your friends ask you for a treat for every little thing, just another reason to celebrate. However, there are a few people who ONLY ASK for a treat but never really take one. And that is not the end of the story, they complain that we never treat them. I know its not a very common scenario, but I'd like to know if there's a word for such people or such a behavior?

For example, I'd like to use it in such a sentence: Just invite him. He'll not join us anyway, he is a "requested-word". But I was wondering if you could suggest a non-offensive word that can be used in front of the person without hurting them.

Thanks in advance.

edited tags
Link
Dan
  • 31
  • 3
Loading
Source Link
Dan
  • 31
  • 3
Loading