Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackEnglish/status/978507759871315973
edited tags
Link
Kris
  • 37.5k
  • 6
  • 59
  • 165
Source Link
learnerX
  • 311
  • 5
  • 10

Using the word 'tiffin' to refer to a lunch box

In "Indian English" (whatever that means) the word 'tiffin' is used to refer to lunch boxes in south Asia. Please feel free to Google the word if you want a picture of what such lunch boxes look like.

I recently, out of habit, used the word in the US and no one knew what it meant. I was asked if it's a Hindi word or an English word. That got me thinking. I always assumed it was an English word but after quick Google search it does not seem like it.

So my question is does any other place use the word 'tiffin'? If not, how did it take hold in south Asia? Is it an archaic British word that stuck in India following the colonial rule?