Skip to main content

Timeline for One syllable antonym for "care"?

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 18, 2016 at 17:41 history edited DyingIsFun CC BY-SA 3.0
added 141 characters in body
Oct 18, 2016 at 17:32 comment added Kevin Yeah, I don't mean that this answer is wrong, but I felt it was worth warning the OP that these may not be readily understood by his readers
Oct 18, 2016 at 17:30 comment added DyingIsFun @KevinWells, you're absolutely right on all fronts. But given that the OP's context is a poem, the ambiguity and suggestiveness of these lines can possibly be parlayed into a virtue. It's a long shot, though. I think the best bet is to rephrase the lines of the poem so that a one word antonym for care is NOT needed.
Oct 18, 2016 at 17:20 comment added Kevin I'm sorry, but none of these feel at all idiomatic to me. I don't think I would understand any of these to mean what you are intending. Firm rarely works well as a verb in the way you're suggesting, though restructuring the sentence to be something like "Sorry that I am too hard" could potentially work (and could be used in contrast to "Sorry that I am too soft"). "Sorry to freeze too much" just sounds like they are frequently cold, or maybe that they are overly obsessed with freezing food. "Sorry that I close too soon" sounds like an apology from a store owner
Oct 18, 2016 at 4:48 history edited DyingIsFun CC BY-SA 3.0
edited body
Oct 18, 2016 at 4:43 history answered DyingIsFun CC BY-SA 3.0