Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 1
    I'm sorry, but none of these feel at all idiomatic to me. I don't think I would understand any of these to mean what you are intending. Firm rarely works well as a verb in the way you're suggesting, though restructuring the sentence to be something like "Sorry that I am too hard" could potentially work (and could be used in contrast to "Sorry that I am too soft"). "Sorry to freeze too much" just sounds like they are frequently cold, or maybe that they are overly obsessed with freezing food. "Sorry that I close too soon" sounds like an apology from a store owner
    – Kevin
    Commented Oct 18, 2016 at 17:20
  • @KevinWells, you're absolutely right on all fronts. But given that the OP's context is a poem, the ambiguity and suggestiveness of these lines can possibly be parlayed into a virtue. It's a long shot, though. I think the best bet is to rephrase the lines of the poem so that a one word antonym for care is NOT needed.
    – DyingIsFun
    Commented Oct 18, 2016 at 17:30
  • 1
    Yeah, I don't mean that this answer is wrong, but I felt it was worth warning the OP that these may not be readily understood by his readers
    – Kevin
    Commented Oct 18, 2016 at 17:32