Skip to main content
Added an example of the behavior of such a person.
Source Link
JAMalcolmson
  • 308
  • 2
  • 4
  • 12

And when I say hero, I mean like, anachronistic, fairy tale, knight in shining armor, fighting dragons, chivalric romance, kind of hero.

I need the word for a title for a piece of content that I made for game, (Dungeons & Dragons if you must know, though I don't think that has much to do with the question at hand) which I'd like to share with others in the gaming community I participate in. The title is the only thing I have to work with to get people's attention and communicate the theme without the audience actually clicking the link. (It will just appear as a single word in a massive list of other stuff other people have made) The name I give it is the only marketing tool I've got, so it's important that the word be accurate, or people will pass it over or click on it out of misunderstanding.

An example would be a person who idolizes Ghandi, and decides to model their values and life off of his actions, by becoming a civil rights activist. They don't dress like Ghandi, or use all of the same methods as him, or even necessarily agree with all of his ideas in detail, but they do pattern their life after his achievements. The example I was planning on using in the text is Don Quixote, despite him being fictional, delusional, and more than a little extreme.

Imitator and copycat give a juvenile impression- like a 6-year-old acting like his older brother. That would be thematically inaccurate.

I also do not want a word with religious overtones like idolator, zealot, or fanatic, as these would be misleading, giving the implication that the game element would make their character a cultist of some sort. (Cultists are a regular theme as enemies in these games, so it's not much of a leap.)

Romantic seems close, but with the contemporary common usage of that word, just seems off.

I am not sure if this word even exists. I think it does. It feels like it's on the tip of my tongue, but I've been thinking about it for two months now with no luck.

And when I say hero, I mean like, anachronistic, fairy tale, knight in shining armor, fighting dragons, chivalric romance, kind of hero.

I need the word for a title for a piece of content that I made for game, (Dungeons & Dragons if you must know, though I don't think that has much to do with the question at hand) which I'd like to share with others in the gaming community I participate in. The title is the only thing I have to work with to get people's attention and communicate the theme without the audience actually clicking the link. (It will just appear as a single word in a massive list of other stuff other people have made) The name I give it is the only marketing tool I've got, so it's important that the word be accurate, or people will pass it over or click on it out of misunderstanding.

Imitator and copycat give a juvenile impression- like a 6-year-old acting like his older brother. That would be thematically inaccurate.

I also do not want a word with religious overtones like idolator, zealot, or fanatic, as these would be misleading, giving the implication that the game element would make their character a cultist of some sort. (Cultists are a regular theme as enemies in these games, so it's not much of a leap.)

Romantic seems close, but with the contemporary common usage of that word, just seems off.

I am not sure if this word even exists. I think it does. It feels like it's on the tip of my tongue, but I've been thinking about it for two months now with no luck.

And when I say hero, I mean like, anachronistic, fairy tale, knight in shining armor, fighting dragons, chivalric romance, kind of hero.

I need the word for a title for a piece of content that I made for game, (Dungeons & Dragons if you must know, though I don't think that has much to do with the question at hand) which I'd like to share with others in the gaming community I participate in. The title is the only thing I have to work with to get people's attention and communicate the theme without the audience actually clicking the link. (It will just appear as a single word in a massive list of other stuff other people have made) The name I give it is the only marketing tool I've got, so it's important that the word be accurate, or people will pass it over or click on it out of misunderstanding.

An example would be a person who idolizes Ghandi, and decides to model their values and life off of his actions, by becoming a civil rights activist. They don't dress like Ghandi, or use all of the same methods as him, or even necessarily agree with all of his ideas in detail, but they do pattern their life after his achievements. The example I was planning on using in the text is Don Quixote, despite him being fictional, delusional, and more than a little extreme.

Imitator and copycat give a juvenile impression- like a 6-year-old acting like his older brother. That would be thematically inaccurate.

I also do not want a word with religious overtones like idolator, zealot, or fanatic, as these would be misleading, giving the implication that the game element would make their character a cultist of some sort. (Cultists are a regular theme as enemies in these games, so it's not much of a leap.)

Romantic seems close, but with the contemporary common usage of that word, just seems off.

I am not sure if this word even exists. I think it does. It feels like it's on the tip of my tongue, but I've been thinking about it for two months now with no luck.

added 25 characters in body
Source Link
NVZ
  • 22.6k
  • 30
  • 72
  • 123

And when I say hero, I mean like, anachronistic, fairytalefairy tale, knight in shining armor, fighting Dragonsdragons, chivalric romance, kind of hero.

I need the word for a title for a piece of content that I made for game, (Dungeons & Dragons if you must know, though I don't think that has much to do with the question at hand) which I'd like to share with others in the gaming community I participate in. The title is the only thing I have to work with to get peoples'people's attention and communicate the theme without the audience actually clicking the link. (It will just appear as a single word in a massive list of other stuff other people have made) The name I give it is the only marketing tool I've got, so it's important that the word be accurate, or people will pass it over or click on it out of misunderstanding.

"Imitator"Imitator and "copycat"copycat give a juvenile impression- like a 6 year old-year-old acting like his older brother. That would be thematically inaccurate.

I also do not want a word with religious overtones like "idolator"idolator, "zealot"zealot, or "fanatic"fanatic, as these would be misleading, giving the implication that the game element would make their character a cultist of some sort. (Cultists are a regular theme as enemies in these games, so it's not much of a leap.)

"Romantic"Romantic seems close, but with the contemporary common usage of that word, just seems off.

I am not sure if this word even exists. I think it does. It feels like it's on the tip of my tongue, but I've been thinking about it for two months now with no luck.

And when I say hero, I mean like, anachronistic, fairytale, knight in shining armor, fighting Dragons, chivalric romance, kind of hero.

I need the word for a title for a piece of content that I made for game, (Dungeons & Dragons if you must know, though I don't think that has much to do with the question at hand) which I'd like to share with others in the gaming community I participate in. The title is the only thing I have to work with to get peoples' attention and communicate the theme without the audience actually clicking the link. (It will just appear as a single word in a massive list of other stuff other people have made) The name I give it is the only marketing tool I've got, so it's important that the word be accurate, or people will pass it over or click on it out of misunderstanding.

"Imitator" and "copycat" give a juvenile impression- like a 6 year old acting like his older brother. That would be thematically inaccurate.

I also do not want a word with religious overtones like "idolator", "zealot", or "fanatic", as these would be misleading, giving the implication that the game element would make their character a cultist of some sort. (Cultists are a regular theme as enemies in these games, so it's not much of a leap.)

"Romantic" seems close, but with the contemporary common usage of that word, just seems off.

I am not sure if this word even exists. I think it does. It feels like it's on the tip of my tongue, but I've been thinking about it for two months now with no luck.

And when I say hero, I mean like, anachronistic, fairy tale, knight in shining armor, fighting dragons, chivalric romance, kind of hero.

I need the word for a title for a piece of content that I made for game, (Dungeons & Dragons if you must know, though I don't think that has much to do with the question at hand) which I'd like to share with others in the gaming community I participate in. The title is the only thing I have to work with to get people's attention and communicate the theme without the audience actually clicking the link. (It will just appear as a single word in a massive list of other stuff other people have made) The name I give it is the only marketing tool I've got, so it's important that the word be accurate, or people will pass it over or click on it out of misunderstanding.

Imitator and copycat give a juvenile impression- like a 6-year-old acting like his older brother. That would be thematically inaccurate.

I also do not want a word with religious overtones like idolator, zealot, or fanatic, as these would be misleading, giving the implication that the game element would make their character a cultist of some sort. (Cultists are a regular theme as enemies in these games, so it's not much of a leap.)

Romantic seems close, but with the contemporary common usage of that word, just seems off.

I am not sure if this word even exists. I think it does. It feels like it's on the tip of my tongue, but I've been thinking about it for two months now with no luck.

edited title
Link
NVZ
  • 22.6k
  • 30
  • 72
  • 123

What is a single word to refer to a Word for "a person who imitates their herohero"?

Source Link
JAMalcolmson
  • 308
  • 2
  • 4
  • 12
Loading