Skip to main content
3 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 1, 2015 at 8:14 comment added AndyT @Janus - If there was never any actual bridge in it, then it wouldn't be a flyover or overpass, it would just be an elevated road. If you had a multi-span bridge supported on piers (or "pillars") then as well as being a flyover/overpass it would also be a viaduct. That said, if you asked me to describe a flyover I would describe a multi-span viaduct; if you asked me to describe an overpass I'd describe a steel footbridge which connects the footways either side of a road. Neither of these "typical" uses of the words stops the same words being used to describe the OP's structure though.
Mar 31, 2015 at 19:57 comment added Janus Bahs Jacquet So in purely engineering terms, whether the elevation is provided by pillars or approach embankments suppoerted by mechanically stabilised earth walls does not influence what the structure is termed? That’s very interesting. As I just commented on Chenmunka’s answer (before I read yours), that would be the main differentiator between the two for me: whether the elevated road looks like it’s ‘flying’, or like it’s on a little hill that the road it’s travelling on goes ‘through’.
Mar 31, 2015 at 15:29 history answered AndyT CC BY-SA 3.0