Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 22, 2023 at 17:20 comment added FreeMan @MartinBonnersupportsMonica where I live in the somewhat rural Midwestern US, I can get to a store in a 7 minute car ride, but realistically, it's about a 25 minute drive to get anywhere of significance. (BTW- not all of us Americans are so clueless as to not know that Germany is in Europe. :D )
Mar 22, 2023 at 16:40 comment added Martin Bonner supports Monica @FreeMan And in opposition to Manhattan, where I live in (European) rural Germany, the nearest shop is about a 25 minutes walk away (and plenty of people live a lot further than that).
Mar 21, 2023 at 14:36 comment added FreeMan "this could never happen in America" You've obviously never been to mid-town Manhattan. Most every task you listed could be done on foot and likely within 5-10 blocks of my grandparent's apartment. One nearly had to take a bus to get to where they parked their car, so getting into the car to do all those things would have been foolhardy. I believe this to be the case for most/all the 5 boroughs of NYC, but I spent 99.9% of my time in Manhattan, so I'm not certain. Of course, if you lived in Manhattan and had a boat at the dock, someone else would be taking care of it for you. ;)
Mar 21, 2023 at 12:32 comment added Chris H @JanusBahsJacquet is right. The answer mixes running errands and Trip Chaining (Utah.gov link) which related to the grouping of errands. I tend to chain my errands into one trip, especially if I have to drive instead of cycle/walk. Of course the list is exaggerated because plenty of items are annual or thereabouts (and I'm not sure about classing Grandma as an errand)
Mar 21, 2023 at 10:44 comment added Janus Bahs Jacquet Running errands is perfectly normal in Europe too, and has since long before cars were invented. You don’t need to get in a car and drive all over town to be running errands; going to the cornershop to get milk will do. The thing that is a little bizarre to many Europeans and is quite American is specifically what you describe: the mile-long list of things to do all in one go by zooming around all day. That is uncommon here, but I also don’t think most Europeans would think of that as ‘running errands’ – more like ‘running a marathon’.
Mar 21, 2023 at 0:35 history answered Jamesfo CC BY-SA 4.0