Skip to main content
Corrected spelling
Source Link

"Errand" is a more overarching term that describes a (mostly simple) task that needs to be done. That task may be to buy something, but it doesn't have to. It could also be, for example, to deliver a message to somebody or to fetch something at some place. Typically, an errand involves that you go somewhere. So, to go to a doctorsdoctor's office to make an appointment would probably be an errand, but to call the doctorsdoctor's office on the phone wouldn't.

I have three errands to take care of today: I need to bring my sisters the invitation to the birthday party, I need to pick up the clothes from dry cleaner, and I need to buy candles for the birthday cake.

"Shopping", of course, is to buy something, or to look for something you might want to buy.

EDIT: A fitting French translation for errand might be course, as in « Josh fait des courses pour sa mère ».

"Errand" is a more overarching term that describes a (mostly simple) task that needs to be done. That task may be to buy something, but it doesn't have to. It could also be, for example, to deliver a message to somebody or to fetch something at some place. Typically, an errand involves that you go somewhere. So, to go to a doctors office to make an appointment would probably be an errand, but to call the doctors office on the phone wouldn't.

I have three errands to take care of today: I need to bring my sisters the invitation to the birthday party, I need to pick up the clothes from dry cleaner, and I need to buy candles for the birthday cake.

"Shopping", of course, is to buy something, or to look for something you might want to buy.

EDIT: A fitting French translation for errand might be course, as in « Josh fait des courses pour sa mère ».

"Errand" is a more overarching term that describes a (mostly simple) task that needs to be done. That task may be to buy something, but it doesn't have to. It could also be, for example, to deliver a message to somebody or to fetch something at some place. Typically, an errand involves that you go somewhere. So, to go to a doctor's office to make an appointment would probably be an errand, but to call the doctor's office on the phone wouldn't.

I have three errands to take care of today: I need to bring my sisters the invitation to the birthday party, I need to pick up the clothes from dry cleaner, and I need to buy candles for the birthday cake.

"Shopping", of course, is to buy something, or to look for something you might want to buy.

EDIT: A fitting French translation for errand might be course, as in « Josh fait des courses pour sa mère ».

added 201 characters in body
Source Link

"Errand" is a more overarching term that describes a (mostly simple) task that needs to be done. That task may be to buy something, but it doesn't have to. It could also be, for example, to deliver a message to somebody or to fetch something at some place. Typically, an errand involves that you go somewhere. So, to go to a doctors office to make an appointment would probably be an errand, but to call the doctors office on the phone wouldn't.

I have three errands to take care of today: I need to bring my sisters the invitation to the birthday party, I need to pick up the clothes from dry cleaner, and I need to buy candles for the birthday cake.

"Shopping", of course, is to buy something, or to look for something you might want to buy.

EDIT: A fitting French translation for errand might be course, as in « Josh fait des courses pour sa mère ».

"Errand" is a more overarching term that describes a (mostly simple) task that needs to be done. That task may be to buy something, but it doesn't have to. It could also be, for example, to deliver a message to somebody or to fetch something at some place. Typically, an errand involves that you go somewhere. So, to go to a doctors office to make an appointment would probably be an errand, but to call the doctors office on the phone wouldn't.

I have three errands to take care of today: I need to bring my sisters the invitation to the birthday party, I need to pick up the clothes from dry cleaner, and I need to buy candles for the birthday cake.

"Shopping", of course, is to buy something, or to look for something you might want to buy.

"Errand" is a more overarching term that describes a (mostly simple) task that needs to be done. That task may be to buy something, but it doesn't have to. It could also be, for example, to deliver a message to somebody or to fetch something at some place. Typically, an errand involves that you go somewhere. So, to go to a doctors office to make an appointment would probably be an errand, but to call the doctors office on the phone wouldn't.

I have three errands to take care of today: I need to bring my sisters the invitation to the birthday party, I need to pick up the clothes from dry cleaner, and I need to buy candles for the birthday cake.

"Shopping", of course, is to buy something, or to look for something you might want to buy.

EDIT: A fitting French translation for errand might be course, as in « Josh fait des courses pour sa mère ».

Source Link

"Errand" is a more overarching term that describes a (mostly simple) task that needs to be done. That task may be to buy something, but it doesn't have to. It could also be, for example, to deliver a message to somebody or to fetch something at some place. Typically, an errand involves that you go somewhere. So, to go to a doctors office to make an appointment would probably be an errand, but to call the doctors office on the phone wouldn't.

I have three errands to take care of today: I need to bring my sisters the invitation to the birthday party, I need to pick up the clothes from dry cleaner, and I need to buy candles for the birthday cake.

"Shopping", of course, is to buy something, or to look for something you might want to buy.