Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • As you correctly state the phrase "pardon my French" or "excuse my French" is used or was used when you say something uncouth or worse.
    – Brad
    Commented Apr 4, 2021 at 12:58
  • @Brad - what a way to describe la langue de Voltaire, which is arguably more elegant, precise, and expressive than English. Look at all the things English can't say and and has to borrow. Carte blanche, tout le monde au balcon, jeunesse dorée, épater les bourgeois, etc etc. Commented Apr 5, 2021 at 7:59
  • @MichaelHarvey Languages are influencing each other all the time. I wouldn't take the fact that one language adopts loan words from another as a sign of inferiority. Just look at "le weekend", "le pull", "le parking", "lousse" (from "loose"), "contacter" (from "to contact") and so forth. I know many French are quite defensive of their language, but those quarrels about "keeping the language pure" always seem quite ridiculous to me. Commented Apr 5, 2021 at 9:17
  • @HenningKockerbeck - Not just English. On peut faire le dolce far niente. Maybe it is because I have been a Francophile for approaching 60 years that I perceive English weaknesses that French remedies. Of course it goes the other way. When I go to France there is sometimes a struggle to speak French because younger people want to try out their English, but older people are OK. A nice French lady in a train once thought I was maybe Swiss, which flattered me greatly. Commented Apr 5, 2021 at 10:06
  • @Michael Harvey Just because I am reporting on the use does not say I agree with it. Please do not shoot the messenger :) P.S. Not to keen on the politic (burnt sheep and the fishy stuff) and the fact they declined to join the commonwealth but I have no problem with the language.
    – Brad
    Commented Apr 9, 2021 at 1:45