Skip to main content
added 89 characters in body
Source Link
glen_geek
  • 26.7k
  • 1
  • 24
  • 55

That's a nice experiment. I tried a quick test with my 'scope. I grabbed the nearest ceramic 10nf capacitor - as Spehro suggested, it was marked "103":

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

Time to discharge C1 from 9.12V to 4.56V was measured at 70 milliseconds.
SW1 was done by simply stabbing the top capacitor lead at the DC supply's positive terminal.

I've not done an error analysis because the capacitor tolerance is unknown and my measurement was quickly "eyeballed". The calculated result of R1 was close-enough to 10^7 ohms.discharge 0.01uf with 10M scope probe

That's a nice experiment. I tried a quick test with my 'scope:

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

Time to discharge C1 from 9.12V to 4.56V was measured at 70 milliseconds.
SW1 was done by simply stabbing the top capacitor lead at the DC supply's positive terminal.

I've not done an error analysis because the capacitor tolerance is unknown and my measurement was quickly "eyeballed". The calculated result of R1 was close-enough to 10^7 ohms.discharge 0.01uf with 10M scope probe

That's a nice experiment. I tried a quick test with my 'scope. I grabbed the nearest ceramic 10nf capacitor - as Spehro suggested, it was marked "103":

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

Time to discharge C1 from 9.12V to 4.56V was measured at 70 milliseconds.
SW1 was done by simply stabbing the top capacitor lead at the DC supply's positive terminal.

I've not done an error analysis because the capacitor tolerance is unknown and my measurement was quickly "eyeballed". The calculated result of R1 was close-enough to 10^7 ohms.discharge 0.01uf with 10M scope probe

include scope picture
Source Link
glen_geek
  • 26.7k
  • 1
  • 24
  • 55

That's a nice experiment. I tried a quick test with my 'scope:

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

Time to discharge C1 from 9.12V to 4.56V was measured at 70 milliseconds.
SW1 was done by simply stabbing the top capacitor lead at the DC supply's positive terminal.

I've not done an error analysis because the capacitor tolerance is unknown and my measurement was quickly "eyeballed". The calculated result of R1 was close-enough to 10^7 ohms.discharge 0.01uf with 10M scope probe

That's a nice experiment. I tried a quick test with my 'scope:

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

Time to discharge C1 from 9.12V to 4.56V was measured at 70 milliseconds.
SW1 was done by simply stabbing the top capacitor lead at the DC supply's positive terminal.

That's a nice experiment. I tried a quick test with my 'scope:

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

Time to discharge C1 from 9.12V to 4.56V was measured at 70 milliseconds.
SW1 was done by simply stabbing the top capacitor lead at the DC supply's positive terminal.

I've not done an error analysis because the capacitor tolerance is unknown and my measurement was quickly "eyeballed". The calculated result of R1 was close-enough to 10^7 ohms.discharge 0.01uf with 10M scope probe

Source Link
glen_geek
  • 26.7k
  • 1
  • 24
  • 55

That's a nice experiment. I tried a quick test with my 'scope:

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

Time to discharge C1 from 9.12V to 4.56V was measured at 70 milliseconds.
SW1 was done by simply stabbing the top capacitor lead at the DC supply's positive terminal.