Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 31 at 0:03 comment added Scott Duckworth And yes, I used one of the popular bargain basement Chinese PCB manufacturers. I could not find much info on their aluminum PCBs, though the info from their competitors indicated that they did insulate and plate PTH on aluminum boards, so I assumed the same of this one. I'm not knocking this manufacturer - I've had good luck with their 4 layer FR4 boards, and even PCBA of moderate complexity. But they are bargain basement, so I'm not surprised about this outcome.
Jan 30 at 23:52 comment added Scott Duckworth Thanks for pointing out that it's difficult to solder metal-core boards by iron. That was indeed my intention. I'm no stranger to SMT, but I guess I mostly think of SMT being useful for small signals. This board is a current rectifier and voltage clamp, and will be inserted between a power supply and a large stepper motor driver. On the board is a schottky, a zener, a resistor, a capacitor, a MOV, and two terminal blocks. I'll look into SMT alternatives, though I may just fall back to FR4 - after all, it's just a nominal current of 3A-5A, though components are spec'd for 10A.
Jan 30 at 23:41 vote accept Scott Duckworth
Jan 30 at 23:40 comment added Scott Duckworth Now that's an answer! Indeed, I'm not worried about the $6 I paid for 10 of these boards - my primary objective was to experiment and learn about aluminum PCBs. Mission accomplished!
Jan 30 at 22:14 history answered Tim Williams CC BY-SA 4.0