Skip to main content
Deleted an unnecessary schematic
Source Link

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

schematic

simulate this circuit

I'm primarily a VHDL and DSP guy, so I apologize in advance if this question is dumb.

I have wire wrapped around a magnetic core. The coil is connected to an AC source.

I want to calculate the extent to which eddy currents in that core will decrease the net flux seen by the core.

In the transformer, only the primary winding is a physical object. It is the wire wrapped around the core. The secondary side of the transformer and everything connected to it is nothing more than a model of eddy currents inside the core.

I'm hoping I can reflect the secondary circuit over to the primary side.

I have 2 questions:

1.) Should there be a capacitor in the secondary circuit?

2.) How should I estimate the parameters of the secondary circuit?

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

schematic

simulate this circuit

I'm primarily a VHDL and DSP guy, so I apologize in advance if this question is dumb.

I have wire wrapped around a magnetic core. The coil is connected to an AC source.

I want to calculate the extent to which eddy currents in that core will decrease the net flux seen by the core.

In the transformer, only the primary winding is a physical object. It is the wire wrapped around the core. The secondary side of the transformer and everything connected to it is nothing more than a model of eddy currents inside the core.

I'm hoping I can reflect the secondary circuit over to the primary side.

I have 2 questions:

1.) Should there be a capacitor in the secondary circuit?

2.) How should I estimate the parameters of the secondary circuit?

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

I'm primarily a VHDL and DSP guy, so I apologize in advance if this question is dumb.

I have wire wrapped around a magnetic core. The coil is connected to an AC source.

I want to calculate the extent to which eddy currents in that core will decrease the net flux seen by the core.

In the transformer, only the primary winding is a physical object. It is the wire wrapped around the core. The secondary side of the transformer and everything connected to it is nothing more than a model of eddy currents inside the core.

I'm hoping I can reflect the secondary circuit over to the primary side.

I have 2 questions:

1.) Should there be a capacitor in the secondary circuit?

2.) How should I estimate the parameters of the secondary circuit?

Became Hot Network Question
Source Link

How Should I Model Eddy Currents in a Magnetic Core?

schematic

simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab

schematic

simulate this circuit

I'm primarily a VHDL and DSP guy, so I apologize in advance if this question is dumb.

I have wire wrapped around a magnetic core. The coil is connected to an AC source.

I want to calculate the extent to which eddy currents in that core will decrease the net flux seen by the core.

In the transformer, only the primary winding is a physical object. It is the wire wrapped around the core. The secondary side of the transformer and everything connected to it is nothing more than a model of eddy currents inside the core.

I'm hoping I can reflect the secondary circuit over to the primary side.

I have 2 questions:

1.) Should there be a capacitor in the secondary circuit?

2.) How should I estimate the parameters of the secondary circuit?