Skip to main content
added 112 characters in body
Source Link

I have made this circuit. It works fine with normal Zener diode, however when I replaced it with the LM7812 it works fine but as time passes the regulator keeps getting very hot although the load is just 5mm LED. (I replaced it with a regulator because I need it to be more stable during current fluctuations.) Why is the LM7812 getting hot in this circuit?

Note: The circuit is fully covered inside a plastic enclosure and it would be just used to drive an op-amp without any human interference.

edit: the input voltage for the LM7812 is 60Vdc at 25C

edit 2:tried using LM7824 the voltage just dropped dramatically to 3.4V and the 120ohm started a magic smoke

it would be used in an unstable power area with current fluctuations enter image description here

I have made this circuit. It works fine with normal Zener diode, however when I replaced it with the LM7812 it works fine but as time passes the regulator keeps getting very hot although the load is just 5mm LED. (I replaced it with a regulator because I need it to be more stable during current fluctuations.) Why is the LM7812 getting hot in this circuit?

Note: The circuit is fully covered inside a plastic enclosure and it would be just used to drive an op-amp without any human interference.

edit: the input voltage for the LM7812 is 60Vdc at 25C

it would be used in an unstable power area with current fluctuations enter image description here

I have made this circuit. It works fine with normal Zener diode, however when I replaced it with the LM7812 it works fine but as time passes the regulator keeps getting very hot although the load is just 5mm LED. (I replaced it with a regulator because I need it to be more stable during current fluctuations.) Why is the LM7812 getting hot in this circuit?

Note: The circuit is fully covered inside a plastic enclosure and it would be just used to drive an op-amp without any human interference.

edit: the input voltage for the LM7812 is 60Vdc at 25C

edit 2:tried using LM7824 the voltage just dropped dramatically to 3.4V and the 120ohm started a magic smoke

it would be used in an unstable power area with current fluctuations enter image description here

added 58 characters in body
Source Link

I have made this circuit. It works fine with normal Zener diode, however when I replaced it with the LM7812 it works fine but as time passes the regulator keeps getting very hot although the load is just 5mm LED. (I replaced it with a regulator because I need it to be more stable during current fluctuations.) Why is the LM7812 getting hot in this circuit?

Note: The circuit is fully covered inside a plastic enclosure and it would be just used to drive an op-amp without any human interference.

edit: the input voltage for the LM7812 is 60Vdc at 25C

it would be used in an unstable power area with current fluctuations enter image description here

I have made this circuit. It works fine with normal Zener diode, however when I replaced it with the LM7812 it works fine but as time passes the regulator keeps getting very hot although the load is just 5mm LED. (I replaced it with a regulator because I need it to be more stable during current fluctuations.) Why is the LM7812 getting hot in this circuit?

Note: The circuit is fully covered inside a plastic enclosure and it would be just used to drive an op-amp without any human interference.

enter image description here

I have made this circuit. It works fine with normal Zener diode, however when I replaced it with the LM7812 it works fine but as time passes the regulator keeps getting very hot although the load is just 5mm LED. (I replaced it with a regulator because I need it to be more stable during current fluctuations.) Why is the LM7812 getting hot in this circuit?

Note: The circuit is fully covered inside a plastic enclosure and it would be just used to drive an op-amp without any human interference.

edit: the input voltage for the LM7812 is 60Vdc at 25C

it would be used in an unstable power area with current fluctuations enter image description here

Capitalization/spacing; restated question in body
Source Link
JYelton
  • 34.3k
  • 34
  • 145
  • 267

Why is the Lm7812 isLM7812 getting hot in this cirucitcircuit?

I have made this circuit it. It works fine with normal Zener diode, however when I replaced it with the Lm7812LM7812 it works fine but as time passpasses the regulator keeps getting very hot although the load is just 5mm led?LED. (I replaced it with a regulator because I need it to be more stable during current fluctuations.) Why is the LM7812 getting hot in this circuit?

noteNote:The The circuit is fully covered inside a plastic enclosure and it would be just used to drive an Opop-amp without any human interference.

enter image description here

Why is the Lm7812 is getting hot in this cirucit?

I have made this circuit it works fine with normal Zener diode, however when I replaced it with the Lm7812 it works fine but as time pass the regulator keeps getting very hot although the load is just 5mm led?(I replaced it with a regulator because I need it to be more stable during current fluctuations)

note:The circuit is fully covered inside a plastic enclosure and it would be just used to drive an Op-amp without any human interference.

enter image description here

Why is the LM7812 getting hot in this circuit?

I have made this circuit. It works fine with normal Zener diode, however when I replaced it with the LM7812 it works fine but as time passes the regulator keeps getting very hot although the load is just 5mm LED. (I replaced it with a regulator because I need it to be more stable during current fluctuations.) Why is the LM7812 getting hot in this circuit?

Note: The circuit is fully covered inside a plastic enclosure and it would be just used to drive an op-amp without any human interference.

enter image description here

Source Link
Loading