Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackElectronix/status/1595341388451020803
added 3 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
winny
  • 15.7k
  • 6
  • 49
  • 67

Peltier Modulemodule use improvement

I am trying to setup a box, where I can keep the temperature to constant/near constant number of degrees. I have chosen to use a peltierPeltier module for cooling but the result isn't satisfactory.

A similar problem is faced here Peltier module not cooling

and I am trying to understand how to improve my setup.

The unit I use is rated 12V 6A12 V 6 A with a cool side small fan and a double fan for the hot side. When the unit is connected to power it warms up on the hot side and is cold on the cool side.

https://www.banggood.com/Geekcreit-12V-6A-DIY-Electronic-Semiconductor-Refrigerator-Radiator-Cooling-Equipment-p-1074404.html?cur_warehouse=CN

After a whilewhile ice is built up on the aluminium radiator so the peltierPeltier works. I can also control the fans via pwmPWM from an mcuMCU.

But although the cool side works, I don't get much of a temperature drop in the box. I have noticed also that the fan sucks the air and does not blow it to the box area.

My questions are:

  1. Should the cool side small fan drive the air on the peltierPeltier or away from it.? What should I do, maybe place a larger fan on top to drive air away from the cool radiator and into the box?
  2. Can I control the peltierPeltier temperature with pwmPWM, as I do with the fans, or will i end up burning the unit. I should mention that I control the pwmPWM with two mosfetsMOSFETs (tip220TIP220) to drive the max 12v12 V to the fans.

Peltier Module use improvement

I am trying to setup a box, where I can keep the temperature to constant/near constant number of degrees. I have chosen to use a peltier module for cooling but the result isn't satisfactory.

A similar problem is faced here Peltier module not cooling

and I am trying to understand how to improve my setup.

The unit I use is rated 12V 6A with a cool side small fan and a double fan for the hot side. When the unit is connected to power it warms up on the hot side and is cold on the cool side.

https://www.banggood.com/Geekcreit-12V-6A-DIY-Electronic-Semiconductor-Refrigerator-Radiator-Cooling-Equipment-p-1074404.html?cur_warehouse=CN

After a while ice is built up on the aluminium radiator so the peltier works. I can also control the fans via pwm from an mcu.

But although the cool side works I don't get much of a temperature drop in the box. I have noticed also that the fan sucks the air and does not blow it to the box area.

My questions are:

  1. Should the cool side small fan drive the air on the peltier or away from it. What should I do, maybe place a larger fan on top to drive air away from the cool radiator and into the box?
  2. Can I control the peltier temperature with pwm, as I do with the fans, or will i end up burning the unit. I should mention that I control the pwm with two mosfets (tip220) to drive the max 12v to the fans.

Peltier module use improvement

I am trying to setup a box, where I can keep the temperature to constant/near constant number of degrees. I have chosen to use a Peltier module for cooling but the result isn't satisfactory.

A similar problem is faced here Peltier module not cooling

and I am trying to understand how to improve my setup.

The unit I use is rated 12 V 6 A with a cool side small fan and a double fan for the hot side. When the unit is connected to power it warms up on the hot side and is cold on the cool side.

https://www.banggood.com/Geekcreit-12V-6A-DIY-Electronic-Semiconductor-Refrigerator-Radiator-Cooling-Equipment-p-1074404.html?cur_warehouse=CN

After a while ice is built up on the aluminium radiator so the Peltier works. I can also control the fans via PWM from an MCU.

But although the cool side works, I don't get much of a temperature drop in the box. I have noticed also that the fan sucks the air and does not blow it to the box area.

My questions are:

  1. Should the cool side small fan drive the air on the Peltier or away from it? What should I do, maybe place a larger fan on top to drive air away from the cool radiator and into the box?
  2. Can I control the Peltier temperature with PWM, as I do with the fans, or will i end up burning the unit. I should mention that I control the PWM with two MOSFETs (TIP220) to drive the max 12 V to the fans.
Source Link

Peltier Module use improvement

I am trying to setup a box, where I can keep the temperature to constant/near constant number of degrees. I have chosen to use a peltier module for cooling but the result isn't satisfactory.

A similar problem is faced here Peltier module not cooling

and I am trying to understand how to improve my setup.

The unit I use is rated 12V 6A with a cool side small fan and a double fan for the hot side. When the unit is connected to power it warms up on the hot side and is cold on the cool side.

https://www.banggood.com/Geekcreit-12V-6A-DIY-Electronic-Semiconductor-Refrigerator-Radiator-Cooling-Equipment-p-1074404.html?cur_warehouse=CN

After a while ice is built up on the aluminium radiator so the peltier works. I can also control the fans via pwm from an mcu.

But although the cool side works I don't get much of a temperature drop in the box. I have noticed also that the fan sucks the air and does not blow it to the box area.

My questions are:

  1. Should the cool side small fan drive the air on the peltier or away from it. What should I do, maybe place a larger fan on top to drive air away from the cool radiator and into the box?
  2. Can I control the peltier temperature with pwm, as I do with the fans, or will i end up burning the unit. I should mention that I control the pwm with two mosfets (tip220) to drive the max 12v to the fans.