Skip to main content

Timeline for Why did my LED drivers blow up?

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 7, 2022 at 21:32 comment added Reid I'm always a big fan of buying older, well-built gear. Any tips on what to look for (e.g. good manufacturers)?
Jul 7, 2022 at 20:59 comment added rdtsc Some learn by hands-on trial-and-error. Nothing wrong with that (except maybe a slight increase in air pollution.) Not everyone is as perfect.
Jul 7, 2022 at 20:54 comment added rdtsc If you're on a tight budget, also consider used test gear. Some good deals can be found on the big auction site. Just research items well before buying.
Jul 7, 2022 at 20:21 comment added Reid Thank you for the thorough answer! I've already updated the design to connect EP to GND. I (apparently naively) assumed the flyback diode would protect the IC from any voltage spikes from the inductor, but I gather that it might not "react" fast enough to protect the IC. I really appreciate you laying out the troubleshooting procedure as well. I'm starting to do some research into quality entry-level scopes and bench power supplies so I can walk through it. I may also revisit Digikey to see if there's an alternative driver that suits my needs, but I don't recall having many options.
Jul 7, 2022 at 19:14 comment added TimWescott "but only because they've already blown up enough boards to know all of these gotchas" you spawned some rueful chuckling there.
Jul 7, 2022 at 19:06 history answered rdtsc CC BY-SA 4.0