Skip to main content
added 4 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
JRE
  • 72.6k
  • 10
  • 110
  • 193

Is it a good idea to use a ceramic inductor for a dcDC-dcDC boost converter instead of a wire woundedwound one?

I would like to use a smdan SMD assembly service in order to pick and place the components directly to my PCB. There included is a dc/dcDC-DC boost converter (DD06AJSA) on the board which consists ofincludes an inductor:

enter image description here

I need to boost a 3,7V lithium battery up to 5V with a current draw of 500mA. 

Is it possible to use a ceramic inductor instead of a wire woundedwound inductor with the same value, so 6,.8uH, like in the following picture?

enter image description here

Also: Unfortunately I have just 4,.7uH as a choice, so would it still work as expected if I would choose a slightly lower one.? In the datasheet for this IC FP6291 a value between 3.3uH and 4.7µH is recommended.

Is it a good idea to use a ceramic inductor for a dc-dc boost converter instead of a wire wounded one?

I would like to use a smd assembly service in order to pick and place the components directly to my PCB. There included is a dc/dc boost converter (DD06AJSA) which consists of an inductor:

enter image description here

I need to boost a 3,7V lithium battery up to 5V with a current draw of 500mA. Is it possible to use a ceramic inductor instead of a wire wounded inductor with the same value, so 6,8uH, like in the following picture?

enter image description here

Also: Unfortunately I have just 4,7uH as a choice, so would it still work as expected if I would choose a slightly lower one. In the datasheet for this IC FP6291 a value between 3.3uH and 4.7µH is recommended.

Is it a good idea to use a ceramic inductor for a DC-DC boost converter instead of a wire wound one?

I would like to use an SMD assembly service in order to pick and place the components directly to my PCB. There is a DC-DC boost converter (DD06AJSA) on the board which includes an inductor:

enter image description here

I need to boost a 3,7V lithium battery up to 5V with a current draw of 500mA. 

Is it possible to use a ceramic inductor instead of a wire wound inductor with the same value, so 6.8uH, like in the following picture?

enter image description here

Also: Unfortunately I have just 4.7uH as a choice, so would it still work as expected if I would choose a slightly lower one? In the datasheet for this IC FP6291 a value between 3.3uH and 4.7µH is recommended.

added 42 characters in body
Source Link

I would like to use a smd assembly service in order to pick and place the components directly to my PCB. There included is a dc/dc boost converter (DD06AJSA) which consists of an inductor:

enter image description here

I need to run it withboost a 3,7V lithium battery up to 5V andwith a current draw of 500mA. Is it possible to use a ceramic inductor instead of a wire wounded inductor with the same value, so 6,8uH, like in the following picture?

enter image description here

Also: Unfortunately I have just 4,7uH as a choice, so would it still work as expected if I would choose a slightly lower one. In the datasheet for this IC FP6291 a value between 3.3uH and 4.7µH is recommended.

I would like to use a smd assembly service in order to pick and place the components directly to my PCB. There included is a dc/dc boost converter (DD06AJSA) which consists of an inductor:

enter image description here

I need to run it with 5V and 500mA. Is it possible to use a ceramic inductor instead of a wire wounded inductor with the same value, so 6,8uH, like in the following picture?

enter image description here

Also: Unfortunately I have just 4,7uH as a choice, so would it still work as expected if I would choose a slightly lower one. In the datasheet for this IC FP6291 a value between 3.3uH and 4.7µH is recommended.

I would like to use a smd assembly service in order to pick and place the components directly to my PCB. There included is a dc/dc boost converter (DD06AJSA) which consists of an inductor:

enter image description here

I need to boost a 3,7V lithium battery up to 5V with a current draw of 500mA. Is it possible to use a ceramic inductor instead of a wire wounded inductor with the same value, so 6,8uH, like in the following picture?

enter image description here

Also: Unfortunately I have just 4,7uH as a choice, so would it still work as expected if I would choose a slightly lower one. In the datasheet for this IC FP6291 a value between 3.3uH and 4.7µH is recommended.

Source Link

Is it a good idea to use a ceramic inductor for a dc-dc boost converter instead of a wire wounded one?

I would like to use a smd assembly service in order to pick and place the components directly to my PCB. There included is a dc/dc boost converter (DD06AJSA) which consists of an inductor:

enter image description here

I need to run it with 5V and 500mA. Is it possible to use a ceramic inductor instead of a wire wounded inductor with the same value, so 6,8uH, like in the following picture?

enter image description here

Also: Unfortunately I have just 4,7uH as a choice, so would it still work as expected if I would choose a slightly lower one. In the datasheet for this IC FP6291 a value between 3.3uH and 4.7µH is recommended.