Skip to main content

Timeline for Question about transformer design

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 11, 2013 at 8:09 comment added Oli Glaser For such a small power output, you could probably use a bit of ingenuity and look into alternative options, yes. Certianly a custom transformer could be made very small, switching or not - it's hard to find an off-the-shelf part that would suit this requirement. Plus you need to consider regulations if you intend this to end up in a consumer product. PS - none of these are stupid questions ;-)
Jan 11, 2013 at 8:06 comment added alan I have seen all these before, and except the first one, and I like the first one. but it is very heavy. do you think there is another way to design it. I mean, another way.... PCB board way, is that possible ? How big it will be
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:51 history edited Oli Glaser CC BY-SA 3.0
added 284 characters in body
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:48 comment added alan Again, a stupid question, I know the higher frequency higher and the transformer smaller, is there any equations or functions to support this...
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:47 comment added Oli Glaser How big do you need though - the L/W dimensions of the small one above are only 37mm by 45mm.
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:45 comment added Oli Glaser No, you need to switch the primary at a high frequency, so you can use a smaller transformer. If you haven't designed such a supply before I would suggest buying a ready made module.
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:43 comment added alan Yes, it is Switch mode.... the frequency is high, and current is big, but my frequency is low, and the current is small. you mean I cant design my transformer like that...
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:42 comment added alan I mean, like the iphnone charger transformer
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:40 comment added alan in the phone charge, the transformer style, compared to that one, how big it will be for my requirement
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:39 comment added Oli Glaser Can you define "too big" ;-) What size do you want it to be?
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:37 comment added alan The current for your shown device is 600mA, and it is big, too big. but I just need the current is around 30mA is enough. BTW, I hope I can design by myself, better to use the pcb transformer to design it. But I am not sure how big it will be.
Jan 11, 2013 at 7:18 history answered Oli Glaser CC BY-SA 3.0