Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
Tweeted twitter.com/StackElectronix/status/1185118471266426880
it's
Source Link
Neil_UK
  • 169k
  • 3
  • 187
  • 417

I'm looking at this switching regulator: http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm2675.pdf.

For it'sits input and output capacitors it recommends tantalum or electrolytic capacitors. It mentions in section 9.2.1.2.4 that a ceramic capacitor on the input can cause ringing. Admittedly, I haven't had to make a lot of power supplies but the ones I've used have been fine with ceramics.

I ask because I am space limited and a ceramic capacitor at the same value and voltage rating is much smaller. Why does it specify only tantalum and electrolytic capacitors in the datasheet?

I'm looking at this switching regulator: http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm2675.pdf.

For it's input and output capacitors it recommends tantalum or electrolytic capacitors. It mentions in section 9.2.1.2.4 that a ceramic capacitor on the input can cause ringing. Admittedly, I haven't had to make a lot of power supplies but the ones I've used have been fine with ceramics.

I ask because I am space limited and a ceramic capacitor at the same value and voltage rating is much smaller. Why does it specify only tantalum and electrolytic capacitors in the datasheet?

I'm looking at this switching regulator: http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm2675.pdf.

For its input and output capacitors it recommends tantalum or electrolytic capacitors. It mentions in section 9.2.1.2.4 that a ceramic capacitor on the input can cause ringing. Admittedly, I haven't had to make a lot of power supplies but the ones I've used have been fine with ceramics.

I ask because I am space limited and a ceramic capacitor at the same value and voltage rating is much smaller. Why does it specify only tantalum and electrolytic capacitors in the datasheet?

Source Link
dos584
  • 389
  • 4
  • 14

Why do some switching regulator require tantalum or electrolytic capacitors instead of ceramic?

I'm looking at this switching regulator: http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm2675.pdf.

For it's input and output capacitors it recommends tantalum or electrolytic capacitors. It mentions in section 9.2.1.2.4 that a ceramic capacitor on the input can cause ringing. Admittedly, I haven't had to make a lot of power supplies but the ones I've used have been fine with ceramics.

I ask because I am space limited and a ceramic capacitor at the same value and voltage rating is much smaller. Why does it specify only tantalum and electrolytic capacitors in the datasheet?