Skip to main content

isIs there any important issuereason why I can`t use high voltage mulilayer ceramic capscapacitors for low voltage scenarios  ? For example 50V or 100V rated MLCCMLCCs for 3,.3V DC applications?

I have bad eyes, and have trouble soldering 1206 or smaller packages, and higher rated caps have always have much bigger (and easier to solder) packages. I cantcan't use THT/DIP components everywhere because of the PCB layout.

According to this note from Maxim: https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/app-notes/index.mvp/id/5527this note from Maxim

It, it seems that capacitance is always more stable for lower voltages. But what about ESR, leakage and so on? Could there be any issues?

Note: My typical scenarios are mostly decoupling caps. Using - using OS CONs for SMPS power. Anyway I could have still trouble to findfinding big SMT 15pF caps for a XTAL ... :(

is there any important issue why I can`t use high voltage mulilayer ceramic caps for low voltage scenarios  ? For example 50V or 100V rated MLCC for 3,3V DC applications?

I have bad eyes, and have trouble soldering 1206 or smaller packages, and higher rated caps have always much bigger (and easier to solder) packages. I cant use THT/DIP components everywhere because of PCB layout.

According to this note from Maxim: https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/app-notes/index.mvp/id/5527

It seems that capacitance is always more stable for lower voltages. But what about ESR, leakage and so on? Could there be any issues?

Note: My typical scenarios are mostly decoupling caps. Using OS CONs for SMPS power. Anyway I could have still trouble to find big SMT 15pF caps for XTAL ... :(

Is there any important reason why I can`t use high voltage mulilayer ceramic capacitors for low voltage scenarios? For example 50V or 100V rated MLCCs for 3.3V DC applications?

I have bad eyes, and have trouble soldering 1206 or smaller packages, and higher rated caps always have much bigger (and easier to solder) packages. I can't use THT/DIP components everywhere because of the PCB layout.

According to this note from Maxim, it seems that capacitance is always more stable for lower voltages. But what about ESR, leakage and so on? Could there be any issues?

Note: My typical scenarios are mostly decoupling caps - using OS CONs for SMPS power. Anyway I could have still trouble finding big SMT 15pF caps for a XTAL ... :(

Tweeted twitter.com/StackElectronix/status/1026211334969610244
corrected typos
Source Link
HeliTux
  • 195
  • 1
  • 8

is there any important issue why I can`t use high voltage mulilayer ceramic caps for low voltage scenarios ? For example 50V or 100V rated MLCC for 3,3V DC applications?

I have bad eyes, and have trouble soldering 1206 or smaller packages, and higher rated caps have always much bigger (and easier to solder) packages. I cant use THT/DIP components everywhere because of PCB layout.

According to this note from Maxim: https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/app-notes/index.mvp/id/5527

It seems that capacitance is always more stable for lower voltages. But what about ESR, leakage and so on? Could there be any issues?

NotNote: My typical scenarios are mostly decoupling caps. Using OS CONs for SMPS power. Anyway I could have still trouble to find big SMT 15pF caps for XTAL ... :(

is there any important issue why I can`t use high voltage mulilayer ceramic caps for low voltage scenarios ? For example 50V or 100V rated MLCC for 3,3V DC applications?

I have bad eyes, and have trouble soldering 1206 or smaller packages, and higher rated caps have always much bigger (and easier to solder) packages. I cant use THT/DIP components everywhere because of PCB layout.

According to this note from Maxim: https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/app-notes/index.mvp/id/5527

It seems that capacitance is always more stable for lower voltages. But what about ESR, leakage and so on? Could there be any issues?

Not: My typical scenarios are mostly decoupling caps. Using OS CONs for SMPS power. Anyway I could have still trouble to find big SMT 15pF caps for XTAL ... :(

is there any important issue why I can`t use high voltage mulilayer ceramic caps for low voltage scenarios ? For example 50V or 100V rated MLCC for 3,3V DC applications?

I have bad eyes, and have trouble soldering 1206 or smaller packages, and higher rated caps have always much bigger (and easier to solder) packages. I cant use THT/DIP components everywhere because of PCB layout.

According to this note from Maxim: https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/app-notes/index.mvp/id/5527

It seems that capacitance is always more stable for lower voltages. But what about ESR, leakage and so on? Could there be any issues?

Note: My typical scenarios are mostly decoupling caps. Using OS CONs for SMPS power. Anyway I could have still trouble to find big SMT 15pF caps for XTAL ... :(

Source Link
HeliTux
  • 195
  • 1
  • 8

MLCC - Can I use high voltage rated caps for very low voltage scenarios?

is there any important issue why I can`t use high voltage mulilayer ceramic caps for low voltage scenarios ? For example 50V or 100V rated MLCC for 3,3V DC applications?

I have bad eyes, and have trouble soldering 1206 or smaller packages, and higher rated caps have always much bigger (and easier to solder) packages. I cant use THT/DIP components everywhere because of PCB layout.

According to this note from Maxim: https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/app-notes/index.mvp/id/5527

It seems that capacitance is always more stable for lower voltages. But what about ESR, leakage and so on? Could there be any issues?

Not: My typical scenarios are mostly decoupling caps. Using OS CONs for SMPS power. Anyway I could have still trouble to find big SMT 15pF caps for XTAL ... :(