Skip to main content

Timeline for MOSFET for 5V high-side switch

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 18, 2018 at 4:28 comment added Spehro Pefhany Maybe it's oscillating due to the electronic load interacting with the power supply or switch. Bypass caps on the +5? Got an oscilloscope? If not, have you tried a 33 ohm 1W resistor instead of the load? Whatever the root cause is I don't think it is shown on your schematic.
Apr 18, 2018 at 2:03 comment added user31708 not sure I understand that. The current is being measured by the variable load in both cases. How does it "drop" the voltage, and why does it behave differently connected to the output of the switch than it does when connected directly across the power supply?
Apr 18, 2018 at 0:34 comment added Spehro Pefhany Your ammeter is dropping the voltage, would be my best guess.
Apr 18, 2018 at 0:07 comment added user31708 Aha! If I check the supply voltage while I'm testing my switch, the supply voltage is drooping almost as low as the output voltage of the switch. HOWEVER, if I just connect my variable load directly to my power supply, it does not droop. (I can draw up to 600 mA before it even drops below 5.0 volts.) So I am puzzled. Why would the supply droop when using the switch, when it doesn't seem to droop under the same load by itself?
Apr 17, 2018 at 23:58 history edited Spehro Pefhany CC BY-SA 3.0
added 1 character in body
Apr 17, 2018 at 23:12 history answered Spehro Pefhany CC BY-SA 3.0