Skip to main content
deleted 80 characters in body
Source Link

To be more specific, what is the exact nature of a trace on a circuit board?

I know it's the conductive connection between different points on a circuit board, but what is its form, how is it made?

My confusion stems partly from this image of a PCB cross-section, which I encountered when I started reading about how PCBs are manufactured:

enter image description here

This image suggests that there's a continuous layer, a sheet of copper on a circuit board that spans the whole surface. If that's true, how is a trace formed? What breaks that sheet of copper into separate wire-like lines that are isolated from one another?

To be more specific, what is the exact nature of a trace on a circuit board?

I know it's the conductive connection between different points on a circuit board, but what is its form, how is it made?

My confusion stems partly from this image of a PCB cross-section, which I encountered when I started reading about how PCBs are manufactured:

enter image description here

This image suggests that there's a continuous layer, a sheet of copper on a circuit board that spans the whole surface. If that's true, how is a trace formed? What breaks that sheet of copper into separate wire-like lines that are isolated from one another?

I know it's the conductive connection between different points on a circuit board, but what is its form, how is it made?

My confusion stems partly from this image of a PCB cross-section, which I encountered when I started reading about how PCBs are manufactured:

enter image description here

This image suggests that there's a continuous layer, a sheet of copper on a circuit board that spans the whole surface. If that's true, how is a trace formed? What breaks that sheet of copper into separate wire-like lines that are isolated from one another?

Source Link

How is a trace formed?

To be more specific, what is the exact nature of a trace on a circuit board?

I know it's the conductive connection between different points on a circuit board, but what is its form, how is it made?

My confusion stems partly from this image of a PCB cross-section, which I encountered when I started reading about how PCBs are manufactured:

enter image description here

This image suggests that there's a continuous layer, a sheet of copper on a circuit board that spans the whole surface. If that's true, how is a trace formed? What breaks that sheet of copper into separate wire-like lines that are isolated from one another?