Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 24, 2023 at 5:08 comment added Zeno San @Hilmar, I'm investigating because I'm interested in it, and what is the justification for this 'unlikeliness' and 'poor' attribution? I can see STFT working pretty well, see Fig.2.1, Chapter 2 and Fig 3.1, 3.3, 3.4 Chapter 3, of the book I mentioned above, and I'm sure there will be some mathematical justification as the mathematical theory (even for tempered distributions) is very well developed.
Feb 23, 2023 at 18:41 comment added Hilmar Why are you investigating STFT? I think the STFT is a poor method for this type of thing mainly because of the time/frequency uncertainty and the whacky way transients are represented in the phase of the STFT. Hence I'm guessing it will be hard to find a mathematical justification for something that's unlikely to work well in the first place.
Feb 23, 2023 at 16:34 comment added Zeno San @DanBoschen, no I haven't. I'm specifically investigating STFT.
Feb 23, 2023 at 15:59 comment added Dan Boschen Have you ruled out using a time domain derivative estimator?
Feb 23, 2023 at 14:32 history asked Zeno San CC BY-SA 4.0