Skip to main content
added 2 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Tester101
  • 131.9k
  • 79
  • 323
  • 611

Concerning What is the correct method to determine the drill bit size for drilling into plasticfrom the measured threaded diameter?

I'm trying to decide the correct drill bit size for a hole I have to make to fit my thread.

I measure the (major) diameter of the threaded section as 0.5325 inches. The threads are not supposed to go into the plastic.

I looked at the chart provided by BossBosch, and assuming I have a 9/16 thread, the drill bit size should be 31/64. I tried 31/64 drill bit and drilled a test hole to see if it fits and it did not. I don't have 33/64 bit, but I tried 1/2 inch and it barely fits.

What is the correct method to determine the drill bit size from the measured threaded diameter? Also, since I am drilling into plastic, what is the correct way to determine the correct pilot hole drill bit?

Concerning correct drill bit size for drilling into plastic

I'm trying to decide the correct drill bit size for a hole I have to make to fit my thread.

I measure the (major) diameter of the threaded section as 0.5325 inches. The threads are not supposed to go into the plastic.

I looked at the chart provided by Boss and assuming I have a 9/16 thread, the drill bit size should be 31/64. I tried 31/64 drill bit and drilled a test hole to see if it fits and it did not. I don't have 33/64 bit, but I tried 1/2 inch and it barely fits.

What is the correct method to determine the drill bit size from the measured threaded diameter? Also, since I am drilling into plastic, what is the correct way to determine the correct pilot hole drill bit?

What is the correct method to determine the drill bit size from the measured threaded diameter?

I'm trying to decide the correct drill bit size for a hole I have to make to fit my thread.

I measure the (major) diameter of the threaded section as 0.5325 inches. The threads are not supposed to go into the plastic.

I looked at the chart provided by Bosch, and assuming I have a 9/16 thread, the drill bit size should be 31/64. I tried 31/64 drill bit and drilled a test hole to see if it fits and it did not. I don't have 33/64 bit, but I tried 1/2 inch and it barely fits.

What is the correct method to determine the drill bit size from the measured threaded diameter? Also, since I am drilling into plastic, what is the correct way to determine the correct pilot hole drill bit?

Source Link
l3win
  • 161
  • 2
  • 2
  • 6

Concerning correct drill bit size for drilling into plastic

I'm trying to decide the correct drill bit size for a hole I have to make to fit my thread.

I measure the (major) diameter of the threaded section as 0.5325 inches. The threads are not supposed to go into the plastic.

I looked at the chart provided by Boss and assuming I have a 9/16 thread, the drill bit size should be 31/64. I tried 31/64 drill bit and drilled a test hole to see if it fits and it did not. I don't have 33/64 bit, but I tried 1/2 inch and it barely fits.

What is the correct method to determine the drill bit size from the measured threaded diameter? Also, since I am drilling into plastic, what is the correct way to determine the correct pilot hole drill bit?