Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 23, 2019 at 23:14 comment added TRiG k for kilo; Ki for kibi, yes. Odd, but true. (Not kebi, though. That's some Anime character.) Incidentally, I'm happy to see I'm not the only person happy to reawaken year-long conversations.
Jul 23, 2019 at 21:35 comment added WatcherOfAll @TRiG: I'll grant you that in reference to where I used "K" for "kilo-" but apparently "K" for "kebi-" is correct under both IEC and JEDEC nomenclature.
Mar 14, 2018 at 21:35 comment added Pryftan @supercat Fair enough. I'm not saying you're wrong, of course; I'm just saying how I would do it. I'm unsure how I would pronounce your examples but possibly literally the way you wrote them. In any event I never say K-bits or M-bits; I either say kilobits or megabits or Kb/Mb (or whatever). Similarly Mbps I say megabits per second. And I thought the mess was bad enough; apparently it's even more confusing. Such is life when you have unwise standard changes (in one version of accept(2) Linus cited another example this one being a blunder of POSIX and how they tried to save face).
Mar 14, 2018 at 21:27 comment added supercat @Pryftan: I would pronounce 65,536 bytes as sixty-four kay-bytes, and a 32768Hz signal as thirty-two kay-hertz. The use of a pronounced letter only for the prefix indicates, at least to my ear, a meaning different from pronouncing the metric prefix.
Mar 14, 2018 at 21:18 comment added Pryftan @supercat If I speak one part of the actual word I will speak it all; so I'd say kilobyte but I'd not say Kbyte like that (more so Kbyte I'd pronounce kilobyte). I'd pronounce KB as the two letters individually. Maybe you're not saying that but in case you are that's how I would do it. I commend anyone who actually goes further than the binary way but I just can't for whatever reason. I'm not sure it's that I'm stubborn (although that's part of it). Even then MiB looks awful to me. Unfortunately language is meant to communicate and the double standards here complicate matters but what to do?
Mar 14, 2018 at 20:16 comment added supercat @MontyHarder: I don't mind the written form MiB nearly as much as the pronunciation. The pronunciation of "Blvd." is "boulevard", not "bull-vid". One might have to tweak a pronunciation rule slightly to say that if letters are pronounced for both the prefix and the unit [e.g "kay-gee" for mass or "kay-em" for distance], then the power-of-ten prefix applies. I think "bits" and "bytes" are usually pronounced as words, however, rather than as "bee".
Mar 14, 2018 at 19:23 comment added Monty Harder @supercat "em-byte" sounds like an abbreviation of megabyte. It therefore doesn't resolve the ambiguity the way MiB does. I find MiB a useful abbreviation (the "i" infix represents "b_i_nary"), but the word "mebibyte" itself is not coming out of my mouth smoothly, if at all.
Mar 14, 2018 at 15:59 comment added supercat @MontyHarder: From a pronunciation standpoint, how about em-byte?
Mar 12, 2018 at 21:05 comment added Monty Harder I think I'd sooner say/write "binary megabyte" for MiB than "mebibyte", but the abbreviation would be OK.
Mar 10, 2018 at 20:24 comment added TRiG If you're using upper-case K for kilo, you're wrong. (I have seen people mixing up millimetre with megamolar.)
Mar 10, 2018 at 10:18 history edited ctrl-alt-delor CC BY-SA 3.0
math formatting
Mar 10, 2018 at 8:52 comment added AnoE I've never seen, in a similar timeframe, MiB etc. used for RAM. KB/MB/GB/TB as concerned with RAM always is 1024-based.
Mar 9, 2018 at 22:50 review First posts
Mar 10, 2018 at 0:34
Mar 9, 2018 at 22:47 history answered WatcherOfAll CC BY-SA 3.0