Skip to main content
math formatting
Source Link
ctrl-alt-delor
  • 10.8k
  • 4
  • 25
  • 54

I've worked in IT professionally since the mid-1980s. My current practice is to write whichever of e.g. KB or KiB that I mean at the time, with KB meaning 10^3$10^3$ and KiB meaning 2^10$2^{10}$. If I'm talking about the RAM in a machine I'll write e.g. "64MiB" and if I'm talking about the as-manufactured and as-marketed size of a disk drive I'll write "1TB." I am not, however, prepared to use words like "mebibyte" in conversation. Maybe one day I'll change my verbal abbreviations from e.g. "meg" to "meb" but I'm not there yet.

I've worked in IT professionally since the mid-1980s. My current practice is to write whichever of e.g. KB or KiB that I mean at the time, with KB meaning 10^3 and KiB meaning 2^10. If I'm talking about the RAM in a machine I'll write e.g. "64MiB" and if I'm talking about the as-manufactured and as-marketed size of a disk drive I'll write "1TB." I am not, however, prepared to use words like "mebibyte" in conversation. Maybe one day I'll change my verbal abbreviations from e.g. "meg" to "meb" but I'm not there yet.

I've worked in IT professionally since the mid-1980s. My current practice is to write whichever of e.g. KB or KiB that I mean at the time, with KB meaning $10^3$ and KiB meaning $2^{10}$. If I'm talking about the RAM in a machine I'll write e.g. "64MiB" and if I'm talking about the as-manufactured and as-marketed size of a disk drive I'll write "1TB." I am not, however, prepared to use words like "mebibyte" in conversation. Maybe one day I'll change my verbal abbreviations from e.g. "meg" to "meb" but I'm not there yet.

Source Link

I've worked in IT professionally since the mid-1980s. My current practice is to write whichever of e.g. KB or KiB that I mean at the time, with KB meaning 10^3 and KiB meaning 2^10. If I'm talking about the RAM in a machine I'll write e.g. "64MiB" and if I'm talking about the as-manufactured and as-marketed size of a disk drive I'll write "1TB." I am not, however, prepared to use words like "mebibyte" in conversation. Maybe one day I'll change my verbal abbreviations from e.g. "meg" to "meb" but I'm not there yet.